We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveler rating
400
332
156
76
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
400
332
156
76
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseafternoon teanew winglovely groundsgolf breakgolf cluborangery restaurantsconesbridal suitelovely hotelwedding breakfastwedding venuecourse dinnerfour posterwedding receptionlovely roomchristmas party
Filter
Updating list...
958 - 963 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have been at Shendish several times as for business reasons. The rooms that have been refurbished are OK, the other ones are very small and really old. Most of the times wi-fi is not working properly, the breakfast is pretty " poor" and dine here only if you can wait for 2hours. The location is great if you are here to relax . Good for wedding and party pretty bad for business!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Nice location. Rooms are to a good standard, but hotel let down by variable restaurant service.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
Thank freq_biz_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My daughter has just had her wedding at Shendish Manor, and what a fabulous setting for a wedding, the wedding co-ordinator was brilliant, as was the photographer, and disco...
We had many lovely comments regarding the lovely dinner, and also the evening buffet
All in all we all had a fantastic day, so a huge thank you to the chef, and all the staff for making my daughter and son-in laws day perfect...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at Shendish Manor to attend a family wedding. The staff were attentive and the house and grounds absolutely great for a special occasion. We spent the night in a Manor room overlooking the grounds. The room itself was spacious and nicely decorated. Unfortunately although the bed was a good size it had one of the hardest mattresses I have ever slept on.
We also thought the hospitality tray would have been better if there were more than 3 little pots of milk - not even enough for 2 drinks each.

Room Tip: check the bed before accepting the room.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Shendish Manor Hotel is less than an hour away for anyone living in North London so very handy for a one-night/weekend break away, which ours was. It's not quite a countryside retreat but its grounds are large enough to stroll around half an hour and provide pretty views from the bedroom. A shame that on those strolls one can find discarded plastic chairs tucked behind bushes or a rusty wheelbarrow - perhaps Shendish can employ a gardener or handyman to tuck this stuff away?

Anyway, the bedroom itself (we went for a Superior Manor House Double) was stylishly decorated with an elegant bathroom - great rainfall shower! The only real letdown here was the fact that what looked like a fantastic kingsize bed was, upon inspection, two beds pushed together. Not impressed - is that really a superior double? Bed discrepancies notwithstanding, the bedroom had a lovely view, was comfortable and a pleasure to spend time in.

If you are going to make a booking - particularly on a Saturday night - DO make sure you ask whether a wedding will be on. We weren't told this, and though reception staff told us upon arrival that there would be a reception taking place with music on until midnight, we weren't aware just how loud the music would be! (Suppose this was a good thing for the actual wedding guests.......).

A second and final tip - be aware that asking for breakfast brought to the bedroom will incur a £7 charge. Expected, perhaps, but reception staff only informed us of this at check-out not when we initially rang to ask if it was possible.

All in all, Shendish Manor Hotel is a nice getaway, close to scenic Hertfordshire countryside and provides a very decent English breakfast. Just watch out for late-night wedding festivities and beds being pushed together!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarniLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews