We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Mogul

The Mogul
Ranked #27 of 163 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Hertfordshirfe
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We live in Hemel and always choose Moguls to visit, it is always busy, which says a lot in todays climate, its a popular restaurant that is used by locals. The food is always excellent and the waiters are always a lot of fun, we've never come out of Moguls with a complaint. There are a lot of restaurants in Hemel, especially in the old town so it stands as a good testament that Moguls is always busy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    50
    22
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

First and only time here we found the complimentary pakoras very good, but the mains (some at the higher price end) very very average. Little spice, basic sauces high prices - very poor. The tarka dhal was mostly liquid, sag aloo ok, keema nan had unevenly distributed meat making it impossible to split fairly (a minor gripe I know) and the mains as I say poor examples for the money. We will not be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always good-A gem in Hemel”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I'm a big fan of curry, licking the plate clean, big fan. So I'm quite lucky that until very recently this fine curry house was quite near me as it is simply the best I have had so far. I have the same thing every single time I go there (Some of the servers even know it by memory now)

Chicken Malaya
Mogul Special Fried Rice
Nan
Parata

Good in quantity and in quality, I rarely finish it all but I savor every bite. The price is quite respectable to, I know plenty of Indians that charge more for a lesser product In my view. The servers are friendly and personable. The food comes quite quickly, regardless of how busy the place is I never find myself wondering where my food is.

It is the little touches on top of the overall quality of the restaurant that does make it a real favourite, they offer a free appetiser and a complimentary drink after the meal. Having been there countless times only once have I had a problem and received a complimentary rice dish for my troubles.

If you, for whatever reason, happen to be in the area, go for it. You're in for a real treat

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I was very pleasantly surprised how good this restaurant was considering i've been eating elsewhere for years. Great and friendly service, lovely food and atmosphere. The Mogul surprise was good, sorry i can't tell you what was in it. Go there, you wont be disssapointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigdave1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

It's been a year or so since I last went to the Mogul but in the past I've never had a bad meal there, in fact it's always been excellent.

I visited the Mogul on Friday evening, it was reasonably busy but we had a table booked.

The order was taken, no starters just main courses. I ordered the chicken dansak and colleagues chose a selection of various curries.

When the meals were brought out it was a bit of guesswork from the waiters. Several dishes were announced which no one had ordered, we were asked what we had ordered and the meals were then renamed to match, so either the wrong meals were brought out or the waiters didn't know what they were serving.

My dansak had a nice flavour but seemed dry, as if it had been kept warm too long and it had dried out. All the naan breads we had ordered were burnt and full of air, not nice at all.

Portion sizes have certainly reduced too but we were given some complimentary pakoras.

I wouldn't return if it was my choice but as the Mogul is used by colleagues from my company I may have to, but I will suggest we try somewhere different next time.


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JC-Peeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mogul also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Mogul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing