We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mediocre Thai restaurant”
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #24 of 163 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A mediocre Thai restaurant”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Service is really bad and the food doesn't taste 'Thai' enough for those who are expecting authentic food just like those you may have tried in Thailand.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Critic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    58
    25
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Love this place and love the wasabi prawns! Service is always good and the food always tasty! Lovely!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joannal216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wasabi starter was just divine as was all the food on offer all you need to do is keep an eye on What you drink because it soon adds up but food is amazing and superb value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tallkell68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

New Years Eve and a excellent evening had by all. Table of 7 with two late cry off's due to illness. No issue with restaurant. Food was set menu with plenty more if you required. Staff extremely attentive and the drink flowed all evening. Entertainment was a disco and great value at £25 per head. No pressure to leave and the evening was as ever a great success. Happy New Year to all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malc792012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Used to be a great restaurant...”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have visited the Banana Leaf many times over the years and this restaurant used to be a great place to eat. They always have offered great value and their food used to be great...

However, they seem to have forgotten what a "customer" is, and how to cook great food. we have been twice over the last two weeks as I have been working in Hemel Hempstead and as it was good before, I assumed it would still be great. The first visit was OK however the food was fairly average, we put this down as a one off and still returned for a second chance. The second visit has ensured we will never go again.

when we arrived and requested a table, we were not greeted or welcomed just told in a very rude and blunt way that "we close 10:00pm" not even a "hello" it was about 9:25pm and their website says that they close at 11:00pm. We told them we would eat fast and closing at 10:00pm wasn't an issue. So, we placed our order and as the food arrived the guy that was serving us stood staring at us the whole time we ate, making us feel very uncomforatble and pushed to hurry. We hadn't even finished our starters before he started clearing the plates for the nest course and again stood watching us the whole time. As the next couse arrived exactly the same occurred, he just stood staring at us and was almost rude in the way he pushed us to finish. there was another table of guests in the restaurant who seemed to be getting great service and were not being pushed to leave. we finished the meal (before 10:00pm) and left. never to return again...

The food was also really bad this time. reheated, deep fried and very bland.

I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone which is a shame as it used to be really good with great service and a good atmosphere.

It could improve if they could understand that you need to look after your customers or they will not return. Your customer is not a distraction to your day, when you work in a customer based environment, they are the reason for your day.

really disappointed to write this review as they can fix these issues really.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grapesmugglers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing