We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats happening to the aroma”
Review of Aroma - CLOSED

Aroma
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Whats happening to the aroma”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Not so good surfaces not wiped food on floor regular staff not in attendance dishes not replenished please sort it out or you will lose a lot of support we have been regulars for years

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anitacrawley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    58
    40
    33
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Aroma - changed?”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Not what I remembered from last visit, range of chinese food appears smaller (no seaweed!) but now covers other styles of cooking. No option to choose your own ingredients and have them cooked for you. OK but not as brilliant as it used to be - probably another result of the recession

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MB54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya M, Owner at Aroma, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad that in part you enjoyed your experience at Aroma Cui Cui. We decided to change some of our less popular items like seaweed and expand into other cuisines. Our Tepanyaki grill was not being used as regularly as we'd like so we decided to let our tepanyaki chef concentrate on producing different dishes from his home land. I hope you still enjoyed the quality of the food.

Thanks & hope to see you again soon

Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Aroma”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Brilliant meal! A large choice of dishes, even for me (as I am a vegetarian). The food was well presented, and was very tasty. The prices were average for that sort of restaurant, even the drinks were not too pricey.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya M, Owner at Aroma, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. A good review helps to build the confidence of our staff who are always keen to provide an excellent service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible don t bother”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin ,food is at best lukewarm ,cheap bad quality ,deep fried greasy ,I d purchased a voucher on group on which seemed a good deal even at the reduced price wasn't worth it ,went to pay for drinks to be told we should have presented voucher before sitting down !!!! The waiter was extremely rude and said we d have to pay full price ,we had to ask to see the manager who to be fair sorted out our complaint and honoured the voucher . Food terrible , service awful ,overpriced , get a takeaway instead .

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya M, Owner at Aroma, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Louise

We are very disappointed to hear about your bad experience. I have personally attended to the situation and have spoken to the member of staff in question. Unfortunately we have recently had a change of management therefore some of our staff were unaware of how to deal with the voucher policy in the correct manner. We have since informed all our staff that group on vouchers can be validated after the guests have been seated.

In regards to the quality of the food, I am even more disappointed. I have personally shown your review to our chefs who will be looking into the situation to rectify the issues which you faced.

I can only apologise for your poor experience and hope that if you would be willing to give us another try, we will do our utmost to prove to you that we are a good restaurant with great food.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All you can eat”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolutely fantastic; so much to choose from; all beautifully cooked and presented. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanBrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maya M, Owner at Aroma, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Susan

Thank you so much for your kind review. We do pride ourselves on variety and quality. I am so glad you enjoyed the food. If there is anything you would like to see added to the menu, please do let us know next time you visit.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing