We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Handy spot before travelling into London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Handy spot before travelling into London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here recently as my partner was taking part in a drifting experience just down the road, this was an excellent hotel as it was so convenient for the venue we were going to.
Typical of premier inn, the room was clean and comfortable, quiet with the benefit of tv - internet etc. There is a restaurant but we did not use it, we traveled just down the road to a pub restaurant. We did however have a few drinks in the premier inn and had breakfast. This was a full cooked breakfast, which was very tasty. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Check in and out was painless. Excellent spot to stay in before we carried on into London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshLady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    127
    51
    16
    8
See reviews for
165
109
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited relatives in Berkhamsted and stayed here two nights. All the staff were very helpful and very cheerful! Breakfast was excellent and room very spacious. Staff called a taxi for us to take us into the centre of Berkhamsted. Would def return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the first time we had stayed in a Premier Inn (July 2013). We stayed one night to attend the birthday party of a relative which was at Potten End. We were very happy with our stay, the room was massive compared to what you get these days, we had breakfast which was very good and we also partook of liquid refreshment at the bar in the evening.

We would use Premier inn again but unfortunately they do not allow dogs! and we generally use places which allow pets. This is very unfortunate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights as our granddaughter was in a gymnastics competition in Hemel Hempstead. The staff were very friendly and the food at both the evening meal and breakfast was excellent. As can be expected the room was spotless and we had a room away from the road so it was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 600HilaryF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If we were reviewing just the breakfast and the friendly service at breakfast, we would rate excellent. HOWEVER
The dining area is by the far the smallest we have yet seen in a Premier Inn which could make for a crowded experience for diners and a difficult working environment for the serving team
The room allocated .. the disabled room has a badly stained carpet. While the bathroom has lots of grab rails , you would expect the bath to have a non slip bath mat. There was no phone in the room. If you wanted to call reception you had a choice of using the Alarm or going into reception. We chose to walk to reception in dressing gown for a few missing towels as we had no wish to set up the alarm process. The bed and the bathroom were otherwise of a good quality. Room was quiet. A few little details would transform this room.
The LOCATION is awful next to a petrol station and the entrance to an industrial estate., with attendant skips.. . the worst Premier inn location we have yet to experience

Room Tip: If you are just a couple or single, better Premier Inn down the road in Tring. We had to stay in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel, room and breakfast better than expected and venue much quieter than anticipated as it is in a service area. We were travelling to meet up with friends but there are some lovely areas nearby-eg Woburn

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmc003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth,uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here recently when visiting relatives nearby and we were very happy with the hotel. Very knowledgeable staff on reception and a good hot meal from the restaurant. If you don't want the breakfast from the hotel there is a McDonalds just across the car park. Although the hotel is close to a dual carriageway, the traffic noise is not a problem.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Address: Stoney Lane | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2SB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Chilterns, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, just half an hour's drive away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing