We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Usual stop over”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

One night stay for work .The staff were very good friendly and cheerful the room was the usual high standard (no one that has been renovated yet with still the old style tv.(I know it is a little bit pickey but the little things count).The food in the in house restaurant was good and the price was not bad .Not a great location if you wanted to go for a night out but for work good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186459And123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. It is great to hear that the staff members were friendly and cheerful throughout your stay, and that you enjoyed eating in our restaurant. With regards to the rooms, we are looking into changing the televisions, but are pleased you found the room to live up to the high standards of other Premier Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    160
    61
    20
    9
See reviews for
190
134
25
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield,England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The welcome at this hotel and in the restaurant was first class. The room was quiet, even though the location is right beside the A41 the triple glazing ensures that you do not hear any traffic noise. There is also a lift in the hotel which you do not always get in the smaller Premier Inns.
The room was up to the usual high standard found in Premier Inn with comfortable beds, high standard of cleanliness and good decorative order.
The attached restaurant serves very good meals. We had a soup starter which was excellent, hot and a good portion size served with bread and butter on a wooden trencher. There was also a salad bar included with the meal which we enjoyed as many places do not offer this option and we do like a side salad with our meal. There is a good range of main meals, the Salmon option we had was well presented with plenty of buttered new potatoes and grilled tomatoes, together with the salad this made an excellent meal. The sweet courses were very good my partner particularly enjoyed the Trifle Sundae which is to be recommended.

Room Tip: To get the £29 room deals register to receive emails from Premier Inn. The room we had was on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenEagleTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review about the hotel. It is fantastic to hear the praise about our staff members, the high standard of the room and your experience in our restaurant. This will be passed on too all team members so we continue to provide this service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 4th June when visiting a nearby RAF base and had no complaints about this Hotel. The room was large, spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were excellent too! We had our evening meal and breakfast in the cozy restaurant and the quality of the food was very good. We will probably be returning here in late August and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. It is fantastic to hear such positive feedback about the size and comfort of the rooms, our staff service and quality of the food in our restaurant. It is always great to hear when guest enjoy their stay with us and these comments will be passed on to all staff members. We look forward to seeing you again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Looking back over my previous Premier Inn reviews they seem to have a similar trend and Hemel Hempstead West continued in the same vein. Although a slightly older hotel in the chain the room was totally as expected - large, clean and tidy with extra pillows and towels, while the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The gentleman on reception was friendly and welcoming and up to the high standard Premier Inn staff have seemed to set recently.

As a previous reviewer mentioned the room was very warm when we arrived and with no air conditioning, the idea of having an open window while reasonably close to the traffic noise from the A41 wasn't really an option which made for a slightly less than perfect nights sleep, which was also disturbed by the seeming obligatory selfish other guests speaking extremely loudly in the car park (although there was no noise inside the hotel). Not much Premier Inn can do to improve the lack of manners of a small minority of their guests though.

Unfortunately the other trend that continued was of the hotel being let down by the catering at their adjoining establishment. As we had to leave very early we didn't have the opportunity to try breakfast, but dinner on arrival was extremely disappointing. The 'salad bar' was that in name only with very little fresh produce, the sharing platter as a starter was a quite nice and a pleasant selection of ribs, wings etc, however my rump steak was well below the standard I would expect. It was a sub standard cut of meat - over cooked, hard, chewy and pretty flavourless and certainly not worth the money. Having said that, the waiting staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith_williams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. It is great to hear that we live up to the same standards of other premier inn’s you have stayed in. We feel we have a great team here, and always appreciate positive feedback regarding team members. In future please always feel free to contact reception with regards to the temperature in the rooms, as additional fans and sheets can be provided. We are sorry to hear that you felt let down by our restaurant, and shall pass this information on to the F&B team, and look into new ways to overcome these issues to prevent them occurring again. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark upon Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here just for one night and from the outside was disappointed. The staff were fantastic, the room was spotless and the breakfast even though the restaurant was packed was the best I have ever tasted. Would stay again and was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hemel Hempstead West, It is fantastic to hear such great comments about our rooms, staff and breakfast and these will be passed on to all staff members. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed one night, 13th May, great welcome, very friendly staff, Katherine was outstanding and the others were very good also,

Basic but large clean room, everything you needed was present. remember it is a Premier Inn and not claiming to be five star. No problem with noise and a good comfy bed.

Some guests were noisy at six am but that is not the fault of the hotel.

Meal deal was good value, well worth the money.All freshly cooked to order.

We will continue to use this chain as again it has been a pleasure.

As usual, if the management want further feedback, please contact me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave such great comments about the hotel. It is always fantastic to hear such positive feedback about the staff, the facilities and restaurant. With regards to internal noise, we are always looking into news ways to help overcome this issue. It is great to hear that you will continue to use our hotels and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranwell, Lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

If it hadn't been for the fact that we got a very good family deal I would have been very annoyed at staying here. The room was way too hot and couldn't be regulated enough with the thermostat. Opening the window made it too noisy and with 2 kids it was not a pleasant night. Bathroom smelled really bad of smoke and for non smokers it was quite sickening. Also didn't realise that this hotel was at a service station however must be practical for travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnie D, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. We are always looking into new ways to help overcome these issues, and shall pass on this information to the relevant staff members. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#5 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
550 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Address: Stoney Lane | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#2 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Chilterns, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, just half an hour's drive away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing