We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning in November?!?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Nottingham
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Air conditioning in November?!?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went to stay at the Hemel Hempstead Central Premier Inn for the night after doing the Harry Potter Studio tour – this was ideal as it was only a short drive from the Studios and had free parking. The staff were really helpful and it would have been the perfect stay if it hadn’t been so hot in there. The window restrictor meant that we could only open the window about an inch and, despite leaving the window open all night, it was still so hot in the morning that we had to put the air conditioning on. Not really what you expect in November so I dread to think what it might be like in summer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you feedback about the hotel. We are aware of the hot rooms and the air conditioning in the rooms. We have been approved to having new air conditioning units fitted in the new year. I hope you had a fantastic time at the Harry Potter Studios. Have a lovely Christmas and a New Year.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    206
    88
    35
    26
See reviews for
283
185
34
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Apart from the budget price, the whole experience was well above the budget category. From the welcome on arrival to the goodbye at the end of our stay, the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating in everything they did for us. The warmth and care offered was brilliant throughout. I guess they are well chosen for their post and also well trained in their roles. The duty manager, Aireen, was very professional and caring. She was backed up by an excellent team also. Thanks Premier. It seems that you do what's on the tin !!!

By Robert in Norwich.

Room Tip: Go high for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobtech A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Robert,

Thank you for leaving such a lovely comment about the hotel and its staff. The comments have been pasted on to Aireen, and all the staff who were on with her. We do hope to see you in the future, and I would like to wish you Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I booked 4 nights from 26 to 30 November through the hotel website. As we were arriving in the late evening we rang and emailed the hotel to inform them that we would be late but that we would definitely be there. On arrival we were given room 312 which is a disabled room. The room was disgusting, it looked and smelt like a hospital room. The bed was only double size ( great for 1 person) and it was as hard as a rock and extremely uncomfortable. There was one chair in the room and it had a very large white stain on it..... No way would I want to sit on it.
The receptionist refused to allocate us to another room as the hotel apparently only had one room left vacant and it was the same as this room.
As we didn't feel that this room was even worth staying in for one night we decided to go to another hotel. The receptionist refused to give us our money back which I find unacceptable due to the fact that the room was disgusting and it was not a no show. Considering the ad says " get a great nights sleep or your money back" I believe I should get my money back as there was no way we would be able to have had a great nights sleep in that bed.
I contacted Premier inn to give feedback and to request for my money back but have had no reply.
I would NEVER stay there again and would highly recommend Boxmoor Lodge as the rooms are larger, cleaner and the amenities are better. Unlike Premier - the breakfast is included in the room price which then makes it a cheaper option too.
I have stayed in many hotels on my travels and would say that this is the only hotel that I have ever walked out off. If the customer is not satisfied then the money should be refunded.

Room Tip: Go to Boxmoor lodge - don't stay in room 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slyunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire - England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was made to feel very welcome - by reception and restaurant staff - Dined twice - food was average and a bit cold - joice of menu was good -Bedroom was very clean and well maintained - although based in town - were on the 5th floor and did not hear any traffic noise - very impressed -lets hope the standard does not drop - you would not be disappointed if you stayed here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloanjovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharnieDayasena, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Sloanjovi,

thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor, your feedback is greatly appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
I am very happy to hear you felt very welcome by our entire team, ad that you found us to have a good menu choice (I do apologise that you found the food average and a bit cold). I am also glad to hear you found your room very clean and well maintained.
We like to keep our standards at their highest level.
We hope you stay again soon

Kind Regards

Sharnie D
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
Hemel Hempstead Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for one Saturday night. Checked in early no problems, room large light and on the quieter side (facing Debenhams). The very cheap deal attracts all sorts so a few late night rowdy idiots also staying here (no escaping the inconsiderate element of our population where ever you go). Otherwise a peaceful night. Just over £8 for breakfast may sound expensive but the "all you can eat" label might justify the price. Breakfast was "as on the side of the tin" i.e. typical hotel bacon, sausage, etc etc. Costa coffee machine provided better than average coffee. Was asked about our breakfast and stay by a genuinely interested manager. Cannot fault this place, well done the manager and the team.

Room Tip: Opposite Debenhams seems a quieter choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveinBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharnieDayasena, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear DaveinBath,

thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your feedback serves as a great motivator to the team here at Hemel Hempstead Central and I will be sure to pass on your kind words.
I am happy to hear you found your room to be large, light and quiet.
I am also glad to hear you liked the breakfast especially the costa coffee. Our team are all genuinely interested in your stay and I am glad to see you enjoyed yours.
We hope you stay again soon

Kind Regards
Sharnie D
Operations Manager
Premier Inn
Hemel Hempstead Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. You are made to feel welcome from the minute you step into reception. My wife and I stayed here only 1 night afater a function in the town that night, but will definatly stay again when visiting friends. It is excellently located for easy acces to all parts of the town and the surrounding area. We did not eat there as we had food at the function we were attending but the menu looked very nice. Bar staff were very friendly & accomodating. The Room is very nice and clean and the bathroom/shower is very good. All in All... a Quality Product!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinnyboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Vinnyboy99

Thank you for taking time to complete a Review on Tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued comments.

Your Review serves as a great motivator to the team here at the hotel and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our valued staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central on another stay in Hemel Hempstead.

Kind Regards
David Brown
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights from 9th to 11th November, and we love this hotel. On arrival we were met at reception by a gentleman named Winston who booked us in very quickly and was extremely helpful. Our room was extremely clean, as they usually are, and in the restaurant the staff were excellent, especially Amber and Kristina, who worked extremely hard to see to our every need, the food was fantastic, and there was plenty of it.
An excellent value hotel!!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor in all hotels, they are usually quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Graham P

Thank you for taking time to complete a Review on Tripadvisor.com, we appreciate your valued comments.

Your Review serves as a great motivator to the team here at the hotel and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto Winston, Amber and Kristina and to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central on another stay in Hemel Hempstead.

Kind Regards
David Brown
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Address: Moor End Road, Hemel Hempstead HP1 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#6 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemel Hempstead Central Premier Inn is a 114 bed hotel positioned in the centre of Hemel Hempstead's business and shopping district. It has an excellent restaurant and bar which opens at 06:30am to serve full breakfast. Evening meals are served from 06:00pm until 10pm from an a la carte menu and the bar is open to residents until late. We are on excellent transport links into London, trains run from Hemel station every 20 minutes direct into Lomdon Euston and the Northern and Victoria tubelines. Parking is chargeable at £4 per night charged on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing