We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and tidy great for over night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“clean and tidy great for over night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked this as a stop over for the harry potter studio tour. Only a 15 min drive away, parking and breakfast included. Ok location. Rooms clean and tidy, great as a stop over. Only gripe is that shower didnt drain away quickly enough and could have flooded bathroom!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinziP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    270
    94
    23
    7
See reviews for
258
166
33
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights this week and will be back for a whole week in July. They asked if i would like the same room!
This particular hotel always gives me a feeling of space. It is light and airy. Staff are very friendly and willing to chat if they have the time.
I just wish HIE would put bacon on the breakfast menu!

Room Tip: Front of hotel is on a noisy busy main road. Rear of hotel is quiet overlooking a small marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I booked this Hotel from overseas so was dealing with the reservations team via e-mail. I did not know what to expect when I arrived!
I was truly amazed when I arrived to find that everything I requested was done and everything I was told actually happened.
The Hotel is very close to the train station and to the Harry Potter exhibition.
The rooms very very comfortable and clean.
The sofa bed came in very handy and I was told, comfortable.
Being a Holiday Inn Express, I knew that breakfast would have been more a coffee and croissant than a full English but I was surprised to have eggs and sausage/bacon. It was more than sufficient for a good start to the day.
The team were fantastic and made my very short stay a memorable one.
This hotel gave me everything I needed.
I will stay for longer the next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here as we were coming from Grimsby and wanted somewhere nearby to Warner Bros Studio for Harry Potter. Location was approx 4 miles away. Hotel was immaculate and could not fault a thing. Car parking was ample, staff friendly and room fab. Free breakfast was great, sausages, scrambled egg, beans, toast, croissants, muffins, various cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, fruit juices, mixture of teas and coffee. My 2 children aged 8 and 6 loved food too. Excellent value gor money and if you find any faults with this hotel then you are just a moaner!!

Room Tip: We had room 311 overlooking car park and canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavKez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on a London theatre break. Very clean and comfortable hotel. Pretty and quiet location. Rooms very clean. Only criticism - no fridge in the room. Breakfast was great with plenty of choices.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had an adjoining room, two adults, two children. Rooms are spotless, clean fresh bed linen, friendly reception staff. Great breakfast, great nights sleep. Free wifi, and a lovely hot powershower . I would definately recommend this hotel to any body wishing to stay the night while visiting Harry Potter studio.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonyawayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a family weekend away so that we could visit the Harry Potter Studios. Very convenient for the train station to London which we used to go shopping at Westfield on the Saturday. Rooms were very clean and comfy, plenty of tea and coffee provided. Breakfast could have been a little bit better, the cooked breakfast was average and we kept to the cereal and toast and fruit. The staff were very helpful especially when we had a noisy room with loud music, we went to reception who dealt with it immediately.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your newly refurbished guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing