We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it has been.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as it has been.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I use this hotel regularly and can only mirror some of the comments seen from other users.
Generally it is a good hotel and Value for money, however, small things seem to let it down.
Parking is good though in the week it can get busy I have always been able to get a space but have noticed guests arriving later may not be so lucky and though I have never seen tickets/clamps used in the papermill car park - it's just something else to worry about.
The hot water still takes an age to come through especially in the morning when it has not been running - not sure if the higher numbered rooms are slower.
My meal was OK I couldnt be bothered to eat out so chose from the menu and ate in the restaurant, the first three tables I went to were dirty and had drink "rings" on them - forgiveable if busy - but there were only a family of 4 at 1 other table so it was quiet - so the tables hadn't been cleaned for some time....I did bring this to the managers attention and he was very polite and apologetic.
Salt and pepper should be out on the tables? at any rate I didn't feel I should have to ask - perhaps I am being a little picky here.
Room was clean and comfortable and though I was on the side with the road I didn't find sleeping a problem the noise was low though so I guess if you are a light sleeper facing the car park would be better.
Not sure if I will continue to use this Hotel in future, there are other options in the area, but the Paper Mill pub has always been the deciding factor. ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterTigerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to feedback about your recent stays here at the Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead. I am sorry to hear of the problems you have encountered and I would very much like to speak to you personally so that I can find out a little more information especially regarding the hot water to your rooms so that I can get this investigated. I would also like to apologise personally regarding the issues you have experienced as this is not an acceptable level of service that our guests should be receiving. My email is gm@expresshemel.co.uk, I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Yours sincerely,
Suzannah Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    275
    95
    23
    7
See reviews for
261
171
33
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Upon arrival to the hotel, we checked in quickly and went straight to our room. The room was adequate for our needs, and nice and clean. The hotel is opposite Apsley train station, where we got the train to Euston and spent the afternoon in the capital. It is also next to a pub called The Paper Mill, which was superb, and we enjoyed a lovely meal in the evening. Our main reason for staying was to go to the Warner Bros Studio tour, which we were about ten minutes from. All in all the hotel was great for us as it was so close to the tour. The only slight negative for us was the complimentary breakfast. The continental food and cereal was nice, and the same as other Holiday Inn Express breakfasts, but the hot breakfast was disappointing in taste and quality. However that said, it still filled us up ready for a day of sightseeing. All in all it is a good hotel that I would still recommend for its exceptional value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clawdeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I booked a month in advance and got a room for three people, on a Saturday night, for £40!

Clean, modern, ample free parking, comfortable and quiet rooms. Directly opposite Apsley station (literally across the road) where a train will take you into Central London in 30 minutes.

Breakfast is the same as at every other Holiday Inn Express in the UK - not the best quality but it sets you up well enough for the day. Can't grumble really - if you don't like the sausages, go for toast or cereal!

Will definitely be staying here again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matteh-2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express in Apsley, Hemel Hempstead appart from breakfast, ticked all the important boxes for me. A warm and responsive welcome at reception, a well furnished, well maintained clean and comfortable room, quiet and away from the lift exactly as requested. At £77 inc breakfast, I also thought it good value for money.

Free WiFi was a welcome bonus. If I had planned to work from the hotel then I would expect to pay. However, the opportunity to catch up on my personal emails inclusive of my room rate was very welcome and a serious incentive to choose this HIE again.

Breakfast was a little mediocre, the hot breakfast comprising only sausage, (2 lots neither labeled, were they the same?) Scrambled egg and baked beans. No meet and greet as you arrived, only important if this is your first visit or you wanted to query the sausage medly.

Except for breakfast,I didn't use the restaurant facilities as I was aware that within a very short walking distance is a cracking Indian Restaurant, or, if you prefer, a pub and bar food. Tuesday nights at the Marina Spice Lounge they have a special offer on, £9.99 for a starter and main course. This is much better value than the hotel and regardless, would recommend that you try it.

The HIE at Apsley, Hemel Hempstead is possibly the best I have stayed in. If you are reading reviews because you are undecided, I highly recommend you give it a try, you won't be disappointed.


Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange1o-Custode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were going out with friends in Berkhamstead last month, so stayed here for one night at a bargain £39 per room including breakfast. The car park was free and the station is opposite the hotel, so we whizzed into Berkhamstead within 10 mins I think.

Although it was a bit of a feeding frenzy at breakfast time, with kids that should be strapped down putting their hands all over things, it was still terrific value. Admittedly, I don't think the kitchen staff could wash the coffee cups quick enough, so hot drinks were off the menu unless you were prepared to elbow your way to the front of the crockery mosh pit.

I would certainly stay again if I could get it at the same rate. I'd think again if I had to pay full price.

And by the way, the pub just outside by the canal also does a mean chip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussextraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you were able to book one of our special offer rates for your stay and you found us conveniently located. I am also pleased you were able to take a walk out of the hotel to the nearby canal and experience the Papermill pub. I am sorry to hear that breakfast was busy and that you were unable to get a hot drink during breakfast. We are a family friendly hotel and due to the self service element at breakfast this area can get a little busy and I am sorry if this affected your stay in any way.
If you do need to book again then please do not hesitate to contact us, there are regular offers that run throughout the year so please do keep a look out for these. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night and although it is all pretty basic (it is a Holiday Inn after all) it's very clean and modern and has everything you need. Our room had a grass bunker just outside the window, so you did feel like you were underground a bit but can't be helped. The only slightly weird thing was how the door of the bathroom also doubled up as the loo door... But apart from that, all very handy and the location is great (literally across the road from the station).

Try the Paper Mill pub on the lock - gorgeous!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GracemcCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead. I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and modern, and in a handy location for Apsley train station. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
813 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night. I think it must have been quite considering the rate that our corporate Tavel agent got the room for (around €40) and you could actually get a space in the main car park. I got a room at the back which was much quieter than those facing the road.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHemel, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found our hotel of value for your stay and that you had a good experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Suzannah Richardson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
612 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Address: Stationers Place | Apsley Lock, Hemel Hempstead HP3 9RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the well-linked Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead hotel, a short drive from local businesses and 2 minutes' walk from Apsley train station. The inviting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is just 10 minutes by car from the handy A4251, M1 and M25. You can take off from London Luton Airport, 25 minutes' drive away, and reach central London in 30 minutes by train. We offer free parking on-site and you can set yourself up for the day with an inclusive buffet breakfast in our comfortable Great Room. Book a meeting for 40 in one of our 3 meeting rooms and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. We're 10 minutes' drive from local companies on Maylands Avenue and Breakspear Way. You can take to the slopes at the The Snow Centre in 5 minutes. Under-18s stay for free when sharing with their parents in one of Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead's welcoming family rooms. Spend a relaxing evening with friends over drinks or dinner in the Great Room lounge or simply relax in your newly refurbished guest room with modern decor, an en-suite with power shower and a 32-inch flatscreen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing