We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic little cafe.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roastino

Roastino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, French, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hello and a very warm welcome form Cafe / Bistro Gourmet and Fish bar "Roastino in Hemel Hempstead". We make daily delicious meals all cooked on premises .
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cafe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This cafe is warm and inviting. Owner and waitress very friendly. Food very quick coming out and very tasty. Sofa area. Clean and priced perfect.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois296, Owner at Roastino, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
thank you for your review. Catering is a difficult job but a review like yours makes it a much lighter task and gives us the extra strength that we need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    27
    2
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The passion for good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

A little bit of France has appeared on Hemel Hempstead High Street. Francois brings his passion for good food and service to the town. Simple but tasty menu choices from different countries and beautiful home made cakes and pastries. Top it all off with a rich cup of coffee roasted on the premises.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trips2trust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois296, Owner at Roastino, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
sorry, I have realised that I never did thank you for your positive review. Its done now and again thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salad Niçoise, Pot of Tea and a Glass of Dandelion and Burdock”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a really lovely little cafe on the Marlowes in Hemel Hempstead. I was given a full plate of Salad Niçoise which was beautifully presented. After I had finished the chef came by and invited my feedback, to which my only reply was "Delicious".

Sharing this here because this type of cafe cannot be recommended highly enough.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pogsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois296, Owner at Roastino, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello. I thank you very much for helping us achieve a good recognition in HH. Your comment is highly appreciated. I look forward to see you again at Café Roastino. Regards. Francois.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The service was fantastic and the icecream sundaes are delicious. Would certainly visit again for an icecream, milkshake or lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jelsbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois296, Owner at Roastino, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment ! We appreciate YOU appreciating US... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a lovely breakfast the quality of the food is brilliant, the service was excellent, my only complaint would be that it really needs a high chair or booster seat, I won't be able to visit again until he has one which is a shame as it is the best place in town

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddlel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois296, Owner at Roastino, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind feed back. We are pleased to tell you that we have acquired today what you asked for. Best regards. François.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roastino also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Roastino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing