We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiquen - CLOSED

Chiquen
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue, American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a fast casual Street Food Restaurant specializing in Freshly Grilled British Chicken served with sauces inspired by our travels.We offer all day dining so you can pop in for a quick lunch , leisurely friends and family get together or just for a coffee and a slice of our freshly baked chocolate cake.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

better than Nando's by a mile. Larger, juicier, more tasty chicken, the sauces were great and the spicy chips better and cheaper. Add to that cleaner and kid friendly. Had a good evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    13
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Better than nandos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love it here! Great prices and great food, staff are always friendly and service is fast. Better than nandos in my opinion!

Helpful?
Thank HannahMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“imposter of nandos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

the sauces are crap and the menu aims to copy nandos more than tell you what's in the stuff. they cook the chicken like you would cook a rare steak. only good thing i can say is they play paul weller on the speakers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gbgbgbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best thing that happened to Hemel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went there second time today and was not disappointed. Great food. Will come here again and again. A great place and great service

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bizzeeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A good find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Looking for somewhere to eat while staying overnight at the nearby Travelodge, we were pleased to discover Chiquen, late on a Sunday evening. The food was really good and the service, faultless.We would definitely eat there again if we were in the area.
Only one thing spoiled the ambience and that was a member of staff noisily bringing in the outdoor furniture as we were eating.I appreciate that it was near closing, and we used to run a bar with outside furniture so we know that it has to be brought in, but the noise was deafening!Maybe if you waited until customers had left and all staff helped, it would only take a few moments.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquen also viewed

London, England
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing