We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to eat”
Review of Chiquen - CLOSED

Chiquen
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a fast casual Street Food Restaurant specializing in Freshly Grilled British Chicken served with sauces inspired by our travels.We offer all day dining so you can pop in for a quick lunch , leisurely friends and family get together or just for a coffee and a slice of our freshly baked chocolate cake.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to eat”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Ordered meal platter and was delighted. Simply delicious with the spicy sauces and lovely staff. Will let you bring leftovers home if you like, Refillable drinks, Desserts are homemade and brilliant quality food

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Page46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    13
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Raw Chicken in Your Wrap - Not Appealing!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Myself and a friend went to Chiquen for a quick lunch today and both ordered the chicken wrap and chips - Oh dear - mistake!
When the food finally arrived my friend took a bite of his wrap and the chicken inside was still raw in the middle - complete with blood!!
When we finally got the attention of the waitress who was talking to her colleague - who by the way was sat in the restaurant eating a chinese take away from Aroma across the road, while on her break - she bimbled over and asked "is everything ok?", when we pointed out the lovely blood, she simply picked the plate up and wandered off.
After talking to who we assume was the duty manager/chef she came back over and offered a "sorry about that we'll do you another one" - Customer Service...No Not really!
The food did indeed get replaced, by which time I had more or less finished eating - and the "duty manager" came over and asked if everything was ok with our meal? ERM no!, seeing as you just cooked a replacement dish! When we pointed this out he replied "Yeah this happens maybe 1 in 100 times, we cook the chicken but it happens" - Well NO, if you cooked the chicken it wouldn't be bloody and raw now would it - satisfied that he had done his duty he wandered off... After about 5 mins he came back again to ask "You want two free waffles?" To which I answered No! Id hate to think how they would arrive if a chicken based food establishment can't even cook chicken!!
Let's remember this is a basic menu - hardly rocket science - but if you can't manage to grill some chicken I would give up and get a new job! Oh and the table of 6 opposite us got their food after the waitresses bought over the wrong order and couldn't identify what was on the plates!!
Eat here at your own risk and if you like a good risk of salmonella poisoning!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ani_Robb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Like Nandos.... Only better.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Me and my brother frequent this restaurant as often as we can. Have explored most of the menu and everything is superb. Sauces have that home made feel about them and unlike Nando's... The hottest flavour is actually HOT! Has a nice seating area outdoors making it ideal in the summer, and in winter there are lovely comfortable booths. Only negative is that they don't sell the sauces sadly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firemanrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire, united kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The food tastes better than Nandos!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had walked past this restaurant many times and decided to go in this afternoon whilst shopping, for lunch.
We were greeted with a friendly smile and was asked where we wanted to sit. We were served quickly and the wait was worthwhile as not only was there plenty to read, on the walls (very funny); the food was fantastic (better than Nandos) and the staff were friendly and chatty. A lovely experience and we will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soontobeLim888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunch - fabulous”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just popped in for lunch whilst Saturday shopping! Satisfied 3 generations (youngest being 9) and was very reasonable - £25 for 3 people for lunch & a drink.
The food was very tasty and generous (but not overly) in it's portions. You pick a table, then go in to order & the waiter/ess brings the food out.
Would definitely go again for a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maccabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquen also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing