We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harry Potter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for one night during a Harry Potter weekend.
The hotel was friendly and had good sized rooms. There was a carvery for evening meal which was excellent and a variety of desserts for 'afters'.
If you are staying for more than one night you will need a car as it is a little remote.
Overall had a lovely night here and would have no hesitation to stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherbet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 659 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel was perfect, great value for money, good location just off the M1.

The hotel was underrated, the food in the restaurant was amazing as was the room service. From your warm welcome to leaving the hotel, everything is done to make your stay comfortable. The rooms were modern, bright and clean and the on demand tv services were great for chilling out at night. It also has a health spa which we didn't use but it has a large pool and more than enough fitness machines. Hemel is a great town full of things to do.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is always a pleasure to receive such great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great location for an en route visit, just off M1. Staff friendly and helpful, even produced cake and candles after dinner for one of our children who was celebrating his birthday just from overhearing our conversations. Thank you so much! Booked two rooms, both clean with adequate facilities and comfy beds. Kids loved the pool and jac (jac small but very warm). Good value for money if staying with children as kids eat free. We had a three course evening meal which was tasty except for a disappointing mixed grille with meats cold and chicken undercooked (raw in middle). Breakfast was of good quality with plenty of choice - only let down by one staff member who greeted us and said "sit where you like" but there was not a free table that had been cleared so we ended up clearing our own table. Despite minor disappointments would still recommend to other families as generally good value and a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flodelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Handy to get to, just off junction 8 of the M1. 2 miles from the Hemel industrial estates/business parks. Hotel looks nice from the outside, nice lobby area with many areas of seats and tables. Rooms are a good size with big flat screen TVs now but the bathroom as usual hasn't been refurbished well. New tiles yes but my plughole was rusty and the taps dripped. Little things like this can spoil your experience. If you're going to refurbish, do it properly!
Wifi is now 'fast' they say but you are still charged - £5 for 1 hour, £16 for 24 hours and increments inbetween. WHEN will UK hotels finally stop charging us for internet access? It doesnt cost them any more, the more people that log on. If they want to recoup the investment and maintenance cost then just add 1 or 2% to the room charges. Charging separately for the internet just winds us customers up Intercontinental!
Breakfast is the usual quality, £11.50 for a voucher so ask for these when you check in. If you just want to grab a quick bite to eat on the go then I recommend the BP garage across from the hotel that has a Wild Bean Cafe and sells M&S food. Handy - as they charge £3.05 for an inferior coffee at the hotel bar!
To finish on a plus note, the maids were very friendly and looked much happier than most hotel maids - so you're doing something right!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. We are working on a programme of
refreshing the hotel on an ongoing basis and trust that we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A stay here for a single night while in transit to a remote job with a close friend/colleague was enhanced by the room - a reasonably sized modern twin room on the first floor, recently renovated. In room facilities were inline or above those expected elsewhere in this group for the tariff paid, and the comfortable beds meant a good nights rest was assured.

The hotel has an attached health and leisure facility with a compact pool and both wet & dry side facilities - this is open convenient hours and available fully to patrons, which meant that we could take a swim and relax after a long drive, before an even longer day of physical work.

The restaurant provided a very acceptable meal in the evening, quickly delivered and well cooked exactly as ordered, by friendly staff, and the similarly accommodating bar staff meant the rest of the evening was enjoyable.

Breakfast is available from early until a reasonable hour, and a wide selection was appreciated.

The only down sides were that lack of free wifi or internet availability, even in public areas and that cost cutting across the chain has meant there are no biscuits provided with the in room refreshements.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am pleased that we met your expectations.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very clean friendly hotel! Food choice excellent! Rooms spacious and no traffic noise! Marks n spencers food next door very handy! Stayed here twice before bith times commuting from here into london. First time son was disappointed as pool was closed due to lifeguard not turning up for work. But thats the only negative

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I must apologise that the pool was closed on this occasion due to unavoidable circumstances but trust that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Jill Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here on Saturday the 19th jan with my daughter son and mum our rooms were clean comfy and nicely set out, the staff were lovely and friendly and the food was great lots of variety and tasted great, I had a fab nights sleep and we would defiantly stay here again and I would recommend it to others. Not one negative thing to say x

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toppatopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

It was great to read your review and learn that you did not have any problems, my team will be delighted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hemel Hempstead
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
6.9 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,336 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
900 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redbourn
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8

Address: Breakspear Way, Hemel Hempstead HP2 4UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
#5 Business Hotel in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $78 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1 J8 is in the perfect location for business and leisure guests. The hotel is easily accessible from M1 & M25 motorways and just 1 mile from The Snow Centre, 8 miles from Luton Airport, 21 miles from Heathrow Airport 19 miles from Wembley Stadium. Getting into London is easy as the hotel is just 10 minutes from Hemel train station with direct services into London Euston. Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead combines an excellent range of facilities with 144 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 19 Executive Rooms along with family and accessible rooms. The hotel also offers a Spirit Health Club with indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, fitness gym and health and beauty products & treatments. The hotel has conference and banqueting facilities that are a perfect venue for any occasion. These rooms all feature natural daylight, high speed internet connections and Starbucks Coffee. The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead offers 3 dining options; Traders restaurant, Lounge Bar and 24 hour room service. Here at Hemel Hempstead, we are proud to welcome families so why not take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer! The hotel is just 11 miles from Whipsnade Zoo, 27 miles from Woburn Safari Park and just 1 mile from the Snow Centre. A perfect way to keep those little ones amused! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead m1 j8 Hotel Hemel Hempstead
Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing