We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Due to my work I spend more time in hotels than I do at home
I have been at the Watermill for 11 months
The property is very nice
Thr rooms are well equiped
Some rooms are larger than others
The hotel has adiquate wifi throughout
The food is of a good quality and the menu is large and varied
The hotel sits on the edge of a canal and has a water way running through the property
It is a joy to sit on the wooden decked area, listening to the water and watching the ducks and swans whilst enjoying a drink.
What makes this location excellent is the friendliness of the staff
They really do try hard to impress
There are many hotels where the staff do not care about the paying customer (see some of my other revies)

Overall I would recomend this hotel to anyone whom finds themselves in need of a hotel in this part of the world

Well done Watermill, you are doing things right

Room Tip: I have found that rooms in the front most block are the most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 436 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was our fifth function at the venue- Willow Suite and it still is our first choice for a venue for functions. No mean feet indeed considering I myself am from the hotel industry and consequently most guest are associated with the hotel industry.
Everything went without a hitch right from booking the function to the actual function. The waiting staff were very attentive and the kitchen even agreed to put of the dinner couple of time as things overran a bit. The food was well executed and the room well decorated.
Thanks Manish and the Team.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnkurSinghal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here one night on Business, Location is excellent with a fantastic Canal out the back with some nice pubs. Nice pub across the road too. Hotel a little run-down looking.

First room smelled of strong paint or industrial cleaner and got a sore head with fumes within 5mins. Opening window didn't cure it apart from let flies come in from the nosy water outside. Reception obviously knew about this as they phone me in the room to ask was everything OK - first time ever of this in a hotel. They moved me down the corridor a little, room smelled of sweaty feet etc. I ended up accepting this as nothing else available.

Rooms are tired and grubby with poor finishing’s and they have been "poorly patched" up using a handy-man ( a few of them around the hotel); most definitely not a professional job.

Cheap-ish, but not nice. Will try somewhere else next time (6/10)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddk222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here on various occasions when working in this part of the London area.
It has always been a pleasant stay the staff are all very friendly and helpful the gardens and river running through are stunning with a nice decked area to enjoy a summer evening.
My rooms have always been clean with king size beds.
The only groan I have is the bar does not stock any ales real or bottled.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the gardens some the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Went for lunch, I asked for a tomato juice with Worcester sauce to drink - no tomato juice. Then tried for apple juice, got a rather awful apple and mango juice drink which, to their credit, they took away and didn't charge for.

Starter was very good, main course I opted for salmon - this was served with the skin on (which I didn't realise initially and ate some accidentally) and was overcooked. The vegetables were very hard and too much like hard work trying to cut. When I asked for a cruet I eventually received a dish of plastic sachets containing tomato ketchup, salad cream etc. Salt and pepper took a second attempt.

Our waitress was very good, realised that things were not entirely satisfactory with my meal and did offer to change it. She also offered us a complimentary tea or coffee.

Hotel has beautiful surroundings, I think the staff try but it was a let-down and I shall not return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank scooby11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I have stayed here many times in the past and the hotel was tired and dated but always very comfortable. This time I was in one of the newly renovated rooms and was massively disappointed. They have obviously spent a lot of money with the upgrades but why oh why would anybody in their right mind put in a pull down camp bed in a hotel room.
I only realised this when I tripped over a wood plank at the bottom of the bed - it stuck out 6 inches either side of the bed and from the state of this plank of wood I have not been the only one. It is only a matter of time before someone has a serious accident with this.
To the hotels credit when I pointed this out to them they did offer to change rooms but it was more inconvenient repacking and unpacking. I asked if all the new rooms had these beds and was told yes.
If I stay in a hotel I want a proper bed.
The food was good as normal and the staff friendly and a credit to the hotel.
Please change the beds to normal ones!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has not been upgraded if you don't want a pull down camp bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
924 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#8 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
189 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
2 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range: $90 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing