We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I found the service good and friendly. However the rooms really could do with a bit of maintenance. The towel rail was hot at the bottom but cold at the top. It simply needed the air bleeding out of it. This would take just 10 seconds if you had a key to do it. The armchair had 2 rips in it. I could see day light around the edge of my rooms door. A little bit of filler and 10 minutes work could have corrected this. It took numerous attempts to get the toilet to flush.

I have stayed at many other 'Best Western' hotels and all have been significantly better than this hotel. (see my other review 'The best, "Best Western I have stayed in"). I feel just a little bit of maintenance would improve this hotel immensely.

It is fine for one night for a business trip but if I were staying in the area for longer than that, I would be looking for another hotel.

Room Tip: I think all the doors to all rooms face the main road. However traffic noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Burrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    107
    106
    49
    62
See reviews for
69
84
19
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannseburg SA
Level Contributor
257 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The service in all departments was excellent and the setting is beautiful, but the quality of the bed was not. Bouncy & uneven. Difficult to sleep on it. Felt like a waterbed. The buffet breakfast was good

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bggl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
200 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you are working in Hemel Hempstead this is a convenient business hotel, rooms are tired and in need of modernisation and food is average quality and filling.
The free internet and good mobile phone signal is a massive boost for this hotel and my reason for using this hotel on a regular basis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickdekikkerfanclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stay away weekly on business in 3 star establishments, so I must stress for a 3 star this is one of the better ones. Yes a bit tired around the edges, but many Best Westerns are. Big points for cleanliness and friendliness. Big points for location, easy drive into London and what a Great Feature the river running through it is makes for a 4 star setting.
My only Gripe is the quality of the food, both at breakfast and dinner, it's not bad but it's not good either, but I'm grateful for that because I wouldn't have found The White Horse pub across the Road, that is Top Class, I couldn't recommend the food or service highly enough, worth the stay in the Hotel just to eat there.

Room Tip: I personally liked the 'outside' rooms, nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, always good to know when guests enjoy their stay with us. I am pleased that you found our property better than the usual three star hotels you stay in. It’s always appreciated when we get feedback from guests, and i would like to ensure you that your comments in particular regarding the food have been looked into and as a result, I am please to say that we are launching a brand new menu this August, I hope we can see you back again when you're next in the area, and give us a chance to show you the improvements we are making.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a superior room which was very clean and spacious. All staff encountered were friendly especially Christina who served us in the bar. Not too far out from the train station so its perfect if you plan on travelling by public transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prenessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Watermill to be with friends for the weekend. The hotel is set in a beautiful garden and makes the most of the mill stream and ponds as its setting. With recent planting, it will only become more so over time.

The Bar and Restaurant are spectacularly located over the mill-race.

Many of the rooms are not in the main building - ours faced over the millstream and garden and the outlook was beautiful as quiet. The layout of the rooms in separate buildings and on two floors is almost like very upmarket motel, so make preparations if you have mobility issues.

The hotel was lovely and run by an accomplished team, we entertained friends for dinner and were quite late sitting over a very good meal long after the restaurant closed. We decided it was only fair to let the staff depart, but there was not a hint of hustle from them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CENO49131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were visiting a friend who lives in Hemel and stayed here rather then the Premier Lodge for a change.
As Best Western reward members we were able to upgrade our room to a superior one in the Riverside Annexe which was a plus. Queen sized bed - very comfortable, large room. Although the room was roadside we still had a good night's sleep.
We decided to eat at the hotel that night. A Hen party had taken over the Riverside Restaurant for the night but we were quite happy to eat in the bar/lounge table with a view over the decking and river.
We cannot praise the staff enough for their care and professionalism-Nick (reception), Thomas (waiter), Charlene (bar staff). There was another lovely lady on reception this morning (Sunday 23rd June).
Lovely ambience overall -a real pleasure to stay and we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Room 233 in Riverside Annexe. This is a superior room on the 1st floor, roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allibea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased that the hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay . We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
393 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
597 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
820 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
163 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Property: The Watermill Hotel
Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing