We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good 3 star”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stay away weekly on business in 3 star establishments, so I must stress for a 3 star this is one of the better ones. Yes a bit tired around the edges, but many Best Westerns are. Big points for cleanliness and friendliness. Big points for location, easy drive into London and what a Great Feature the river running through it is makes for a 4 star setting.
My only Gripe is the quality of the food, both at breakfast and dinner, it's not bad but it's not good either, but I'm grateful for that because I wouldn't have found The White Horse pub across the Road, that is Top Class, I couldn't recommend the food or service highly enough, worth the stay in the Hotel just to eat there.

Room Tip: I personally liked the 'outside' rooms, nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, always good to know when guests enjoy their stay with us. I am pleased that you found our property better than the usual three star hotels you stay in. It’s always appreciated when we get feedback from guests, and i would like to ensure you that your comments in particular regarding the food have been looked into and as a result, I am please to say that we are launching a brand new menu this August, I hope we can see you back again when you're next in the area, and give us a chance to show you the improvements we are making.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    107
    107
    49
    63
See reviews for
69
84
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a superior room which was very clean and spacious. All staff encountered were friendly especially Christina who served us in the bar. Not too far out from the train station so its perfect if you plan on travelling by public transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prenessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Watermill to be with friends for the weekend. The hotel is set in a beautiful garden and makes the most of the mill stream and ponds as its setting. With recent planting, it will only become more so over time.

The Bar and Restaurant are spectacularly located over the mill-race.

Many of the rooms are not in the main building - ours faced over the millstream and garden and the outlook was beautiful as quiet. The layout of the rooms in separate buildings and on two floors is almost like very upmarket motel, so make preparations if you have mobility issues.

The hotel was lovely and run by an accomplished team, we entertained friends for dinner and were quite late sitting over a very good meal long after the restaurant closed. We decided it was only fair to let the staff depart, but there was not a hint of hustle from them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CENO49131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were visiting a friend who lives in Hemel and stayed here rather then the Premier Lodge for a change.
As Best Western reward members we were able to upgrade our room to a superior one in the Riverside Annexe which was a plus. Queen sized bed - very comfortable, large room. Although the room was roadside we still had a good night's sleep.
We decided to eat at the hotel that night. A Hen party had taken over the Riverside Restaurant for the night but we were quite happy to eat in the bar/lounge table with a view over the decking and river.
We cannot praise the staff enough for their care and professionalism-Nick (reception), Thomas (waiter), Charlene (bar staff). There was another lovely lady on reception this morning (Sunday 23rd June).
Lovely ambience overall -a real pleasure to stay and we will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Room 233 in Riverside Annexe. This is a superior room on the 1st floor, roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allibea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watermillhotel, Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback after your recent stay. I am pleased that the hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay . We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We needed accommodation in Berkhamsted for a family event the same weekend as our wedding anniversary. Was unsure about booking the Watermill having read some of the reviews, but decided to go for it. We had the most lovely time. I called a day ahead to let them know it was our wedding anniversary weekend and asked if we could have a nice room. We had a very nice, large room with a super-king bed, the room was in excellent condition. They had placed rose petals on the bed in the shape of a heart and had several other lovely surprises for us throughout the weekend. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating - even ordering flowers and having them delivered. So, don't believe all the negative reviews - we will definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed the night of June 15th for our 10th wedding anniversary, we had a lovely room the staff were professional at all times we have stayed before and would do so again lovely place,i did tell them before hand that it was a special occasion and they put rose petals on our bed with a box of chocs, 10 mins after we arrived room service knocked on our door and gave us a sparkling bottle of bubbly to celebrate, what a lovely touch!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrslmsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Well its just another cheap hotel, standard rooms, basic food, and very basic service. Maybe I should have stayed at the Premier Inn.

Its a pity, the view from the bedroom was fantastic.

Internet connection was ...Well when it worked, it worked.

Please Best Western. get your act together.

Room Tip: If its cheap and cheerful, its for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watermillhotel, General Manager at The Watermill Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Mike C,
Many thanks for your review, albeit a tad disappointing to hear. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren't able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. Please consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with superior service.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hemel Hempstead hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
400 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
723 reviews
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
621 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
832 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Property: The Watermill Hotel
Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing