We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watermill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Watermill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
1 review
“Superior service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed at the Watermill hotel recently and cannot fault it one bit. me and my family were attending a wedding in Berkhamsted and this was conveniently located for us, only a short taxi drive away from the function venue. We had our 3 year old son with us and had booked a family room which was very spacious with a large screen TV and lots of free biscuits which went down a treat for the little one! the staff were very welcoming from reception to the service staff, always on hand if we needed anything. breakfast variety was very good, with a range of flavored teas which my wife really enjoys. overall if you’re looking for a nice reasonably priced hotel this is it! Friendly staff, clean room and lovely location, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    107
    103
    48
    58
See reviews for
66
81
19
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tintwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel several times and most recently last month - I have learnt my lesson, I will not be going back. As it is under the BW brand I always expect something reasonable and fairly priced.

This is a poorly run hotel that does not live up to the standard of BW. Mediocre food, grotty room service and rooms that demonstrator a lack of care and an eye for detail. The staff are not really interested.

If you want a bed for the night without any expectations apart from sleep then this is for you ok for a quick business stay not suitable for family outings.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefJDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hemel Hempstead hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was at the hotel for a wedding reception the drinks was over price and they kept running out of glasses ! The staff was rude they only had one card machine some of the staff had very inappropriate make up I wouldn't suggest this place

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjbubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel was used for a base to visit various places within approximately one hour of travelling on a three nught trip. The staff in all areas were particularly helpful at all times and very friendly and obviously happy in their employment. The waiting staff in the restaurant were a particularly friendly. The rooms overlooked the small river which runs through the back of the hotel and it was very pretty. The rooms were very clean and water and tea/coffee was replenished every day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road were either double glazed or had a small hallway which cut down any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here on business. Not a nice hotel at all, stayed in a block that was like a council flat. Room pretty standard but drab. Bathroom not that modern or clean. It wasn't the hotels fault but the room next door were noisy all night and they kept me awake, so you have to question the sound proofing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stay here once a year to catch up with old freinds etc

As nice as the hotel is (we always get a family room) good size, always very clean and comfortable, we are starting to consider other options for next year...

.. the main reason, the price hike, for abbrox £45-£60 a night it was good value, but at £70 it is nowhere near as plush as one would expect.

Also the water pressure in the shower is terrible, no one to check out of the hotel with in the morning either.

If you can get a decent price then i would defintelty recommend, i think the fairest way i can describe the level of the hotel is a homely premier inn type experience.

Room Tip: Try and get upstairs, else you may get chatters/ smokers outside your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston. Lancashire.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been working from home for a few weeks, but I am now on my travels again & I booked into the Best Western Watermills Hotel in Hemel Hempstead. The rate I got for two nights was reasonable. The room was a good size, was Clean, comfortable & Quiet & the location was good for me. Good working area in the room. The staff were pleasant. Plenty of parking space so no worries there. The breakfast was serve yourself, & you could fill your plate as much as you wanted too. I would stay here again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakamatutsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.1 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#6 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Cent...
#3 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watermill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watermill Hotel

Property: The Watermill Hotel
Address: London Road | Bourne End, Hemel Hempstead HP1 2RJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Watermill Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Watermill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill Hotel, one of the finest modern Hotels in Hemel Hempstead is built around an old flour mill and offers excellent accommodations in Hemel Hempstead with a panoramic view of River Bulbourne threading through the property. Experience a serene, Old World retreat from bustling city life in this picturesque modern hotel. A convenient getaway venue with plenty of spacious free car parking. Watermill also offers wonderful amenities and hospitality for a relaxing stay, with convenient access to the area's tourist, industrial and commercial centres. Our hotel in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire include 71 tastefully appointed rooms, several with beautiful views of the lush green meadows and the River Bulbourne. A blend of refined luxury and and refreshing tranquility is sure to romance both leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Watermill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Watermill
Hemel Hempstead Best Western
Best Western Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing