We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #21 of 166 Restaurants in Hemel Hempstead
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Have been here on many occasions and it never fails to please, we often take the grandchildren because there is plenty of room inside and out to walk them around when they get a little fed up. The staff are very helpful and polite and always smiling.
The food is fantastic with plenty of choice, in my opinion good clean looking meals at a vey good price. Had many items on the menu and none have ever failed
Lovely atmosphere in here so never want to leave especially on a nice sunny day, sitting out in the lovely garden after a meal.
Will always return to this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CyprusSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionWaterEnd, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hi CyprusSunseeker,

Thanks for such a fantastic review! It’s so motivating to get such positive feedback, especially from a regular. Consistency is incredibly important to us at Oakman Inns and we’re delighted to hear you feel we achieve this.

We’re really pleased that you enjoy the garden as much as we do, finger’s crossed for a nice warm summer!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon,
The Red Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 383 of 563 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Car parking lots of spaces, good menu and good food, décor light and refreshing a very pleasant overall experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank delboysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionWaterEnd, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hi Delboysmum,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, and we are absolutely delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time with us.

Please do come by again soon,
The Red Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We visited the red lion for my sisters birthday. We keep coming back to this pub in hope that our experience would be better..but unfortunately we will never ever be going back.
We arrived at 4.15pm and we were still waiting for our main courses at 6.15pm! The service was shocking and the food was absolutey horrendous.
Same old story..fantastic surroundings but clueless in terms of running a restaurant!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rossib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Booked in advance as wasen't sure how busy it would be, food was great, we had a choice whether we wanted to sit inside or outside, it was a nice day so we chose to sit outside, would definitely go back here for Sunday lunch again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank atradiesvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionWaterEnd, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hi Atradiesvic,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, it’s so encouraging for the whole team to hear positive feedback!

We’re delighted to hear you had a lovely Sunday lunch with us, please do come back soon to sample some of our other menu’s!
The Red Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We ate at this popular restaurant last week. It was busy . The staff are attentive and friendly. Rachel was great. Apart from the bread basket which was not a basket and the bread was white and not fresh, we asked for brown but nine was available, we all chose steak with béarnaise sauce. The steak was superb, flavoursome and tender, chips were average. The wine Rioja was good and not overpriced. All in all an excellent dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank harpendenscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedLionWaterEnd, General Manager at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hi Harpendenscout,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. It’s incredibly motivating for the whole team to hear that you appreciated their hard work.

I’m sorry to hear about the bread – in future please feel free to let a member of staff know that you’re unhappy and we will endeavour to remedy the problem.

Please do come back and visit us soon,
The Red Lion Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
 
Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Tring, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing