We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Olde Kings Arms
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Watermill Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)
$84
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shendish Manor Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead Central Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
$37
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel(Hemel Hempstead)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
79
48
14
7
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
48
14
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbeer festivalunder new managementstayed overnight at this hotelwouldn t hesitatehelpful member of staffmain bardefinitely stay here againstayed one nightcar parkgreat place to staygreat showerbed was comfortablefull english breakfaststaff were really friendlynext morningfree parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 162 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The rooms may be ok, but if your reception is unfriendly and rude, then don't stay there. We had telephoned ahead to ascertain if we could bring our small, well-behaved dog with us for our one night stay. We were told by a female that was fine. We arrived, as pre-planned, late in the evening, to be met with an implacable and unpleasant reception by a male: 'We don't take dogs; we don't have the facilities.' We said that we had had a completely different answer the day before but he was unhelpful and sneering, almost playing to his audience of one man. We were forced to find somewhere else to stay late in the evening.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank K1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed with other members of my family on Saturday night 22nd March.
This was a great value stay. The room was large and we had a wet room en suite. We had a pub lunch in the bar which was also very good value and lovely food.
All of the staff seem to have been hand picked and were friendly and helpful, from the chambermaid upwards.
Our only disappointment was that we were unable to eat there in the evening as they were hosting a large charity dinner. Cant moan at that!
Thank you for a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Under new management since October and recently renovated. We were staying for a christening and stayed 2 nights. We arrived late and the manager Elliott let us park in the flagged beer garden. The road at the front of the pub is closed for repairs so car access is from the rear.
Our room (4) was fairly small but modern. Good bathroom and big powerful shower. We slept like logs so something was right.
Decent tv and tea tray and kettle. Small point- room could do with a hair dryer. But we paid £40 a night this was great value.
Breakfast is optional and is £5 a head fully freshly cooked with sausages from the local butcher. It includes toast and drinks. Nice touch and well worth it.
The bar and restaurant areas are very comfortable with decent beers and some good red wines. The nibbles are good. We arrived to late to eat in the restaurant and ate at the christening. However the restaurant menu looks good with main courses freshly cooked for £8/9.
We would stay here again and apparently rooms 7&8 are much bigger and cost £60. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed overnight at this hotel/pub in early March. It's situated in the Old Town part of Hemel Hempstead. The double room was well appointed with en-suite facility. Very clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and very helpful. My partner and I were very well received. The bed was very comfortable. I would certainly return here.

If you are looking for a place in Hemel Hempstead for a short stay do consider The Old Kings Arms Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed in room 6 which was large clean and tidy. The shower was slow to drain but not really a problem. I had a few problems trying to sort out the flush on the toilet. Overall I found the accommodation to be value for money and a lot better than other b & b 's that I had stayed at in the area. I would use it again. Car park was to small.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews