We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Olde Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value for what you get”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Olde Kings Arms has apparently recently undergone a refurbishment. Whilst I can't say it's been entirely successful (the shower in my room had a tendency towards being slightly erratic, there was one tiny bin in the entire room), for the amount you're paying for the room it surely beats out staying at a Travelodge. The guy running the place (or at least behind the bar) was very attentive and helpful, the bed was comfortable and generally the room was nicely decorated and well-maintained. It's a little spartan, but I'd stay here again if I needed a room in Hemel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    44
    13
    7
    14
See reviews for
14
62
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Definitely not as advertised. The bedroom ( room 1 ) was tiny, it stank of stale tobacco, the shower was filthy and mouldy, the toilet had not been cleaned after the last occupant had used it. Damp inside the wardrobe, and some very wiffy bedding. No car parking ( yet advertised as ) so we found a tiny spot to wedge our car in on a pavement by somebody's garden wall hoping not to get bumped. There was not even enough room to put our case ( a very small one ) on the floor of the bedroom.. The only good thing I can say , we were greeted by a very pleasant you man. Hence , we put the key in the bedroom door, picked up our case and walked.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bevr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Booked via Internet. Took ages to find as road outside was closed for major roadworks. Managed to find a pavement at the back of the place to wedge car in. Greeted by fantastic young man who couldn't have done more to welcome us. When we were shown to our room, it stunk of stale tobacco. The toilet was dirty, the shower black with mould. The walk in wardrobe had rising damp in it and the wall paper was hanging off. There were cheap air fresheners hanging everywhere to try to combat the stench. My wife nearly cried, so after a quick drink in the bar, and listening to all the bad language by the locals, I decided to leave immediately. I did not ask for my £50 back, as I didn't want to cause any trouble. I strongly advise you avoid this establishment at all costs. If it is an emergency, sleep in your car. A really dreadful place. Filthy rooms, an awful pong of stale tobacco and damp, and badly mis described on their website.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RobRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This guy has totally tranformed this place into a very welcoming comfortable and value for money establishment with fantastic food - well done - room 7 was fantastic Local pubs were OK but this was only a short business trip so I didn't have time to try local facilities

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith&shelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Lovely, welcoming place. The room we had was clean and well decorated, quite small but perfect for our one night stay. Food was delicious and very well priced. The barman was great, very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend and would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiewestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Popped into Hemel old town with friends for a catch up over lunch. We chose the Olde Kings Arms as it looked very inviting from the outside. The decor inside has been newly vamped and everything looked clean and comfortable. We all chose the roasts and we were not disappointed, great portions, roast pots, roast new pots and mash but the best bit was the great selection of perfectly cooked veg, too many times pubs let themselves down with this.
We greedily had desserts, sticky toffee pudding and chocolate brownies both were light, deliciously indulgent and definitely homemade.
We all really enjoyed the visit and thought it was great value for money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for one night, just wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful to get our heads down, it's a great welcoming little hotel, didn't expect it to be as nice as it was and you can have breakfast for £5 it was nice too !

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hemel Hempstead hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, ...
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
622 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
405 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead
#9 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
170 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Watermill Hotel
The Watermill Hotel
#10 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gateway
Travelodge Hemel Hempstead Gatew...
#5 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Kings Arms

Property: The Olde Kings Arms
Address: 41 High Street, Hemel Hempstead HP1 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hemel Hempstead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hemel Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Olde Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Olde Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Kings Arms Hotel Hemel Hempstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing