We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hunters Meet Hotel(Hatfield Heath)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Hallingbury Mill(Little Hallingbury)(Great Value!)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel London Stansted Airport(Stansted Mountfitchet)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,799)
Filter reviews
1,799 results
Traveler rating
618
579
312
175
115
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
618
579
312
175
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacountry housea murder mystery eveningbeautiful hotelcream teafeature roomwest wingcocktail barlovely groundsexecutive roombed and breakfastlarge bathroomsconestennis courtswedding venuecourse dinnerwedding breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,248 - 1,253 of 1,799 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were brought a wowcher stay at this Hotel as a Wedding present, which included a one night stay and an afternoon cream tea. We were looking to upgrade our stay to one of the four poster bedrooms and to include a full afternoon tea, but after reading many of the negative reviews on this site we decided not to upgrade, thinking that if it was bad then we hadn't paid for anything. However, we found that the negative comments were a bit wide of the mark. When we arrived at around 12.30pm we were really surprised. The place looked lovely, the staff were really helpful and our room was ready.The room was good sized and very clean. We had our tea booked for 2.30pm, so we decided a walk around the lovely grounds before hand. The staff again were excellent, the tea lovely and the scones were huge and you had two of them! In the evening we decided to get a taxi to Bishops Stortford have a nice meal and a few drinks there. It was a very nice town and the cab fare there and back was reasonable. I managed to leave my wallet in the cab on the way back and the staff were really helpful and contacted the cab firm (who were hotel recommended) and managed to re-unite me with this the next day, no problem!
The breakfast was nice and was buffet style and plentyful. The main restaurant was full so we were shown to a function room upstairs, but service and food was the same. Only critism we had was the toaster was painfully slow!
Overall a really nice hotel and a really pleasant and relaxed stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelseacheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and in particular the service from our team. We will certainly share this with the Reception team and the Afternoon Tea waiters. We look forward to welcoming you to Down Hall again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for one night using the Facebook £99 deal. Room on the first floor overlooked the woods and was large and clean, a little dated perhaps but in keeping with the grandeur of the hotel. Bathroom was also large with two sinks, lots of hot water and good pressure in the shower.
To use the pool you need to sign in at reception to obtain a towel. There was a bit of a queue waiting to check in but a young man saw us waiting cossies in hand, asked if we were waiting for pool towels and went off to fetch them. He then walked us round to the pool. Top marks for good service! The pool itself is on the small side so fills up quickly. It was also the warmest pool we had ever been in but we enjoyed an hour or so in there.
A two course dinner was included in the deal, we decided to pay for a third course and were not disappointed as everything was perfectly cooked and full of flavour. Service was also excellent.
Lots of choice at breakfast but the sausages and bacon were a little dry, this could have been down to the length of time the food had been out. The serving dishes were topped up with fresh food just after we took ours so we were perhaps just unlucky.
The grounds are extensive and as it was a lovely day we had a walk round before leaving. We even saw a muntjac deer. All in all a great stay for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobandJacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share this feedback with the relevant team members and we hope to welcome you back to Down Hall again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful building with lovely grounds.
We had a Wowcher afternoon tea deal and 1 night's stay deal - the scones were yummy and fresh and our room was massive with doors that opened into the garden.
Staff were all friendly, room was clean...I couldn't fault anything.
We didn't have dinner or drink in the bar - so I can't comment on that side of things.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlabeeswax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you have had a nice stay with us, we will share your comments with team here at Down Hall. We hope we can welcome you back to Down Hall in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Booked a 'special deal' advertised on Facebook (£99 for overnight stay, dinner, bed and breakfast). The deal was offered for use in January and February and has now been extended for March. Well worth taking up the offer.
Lovely, warm, luxurious standard room (upgrade offered for additional £25), which we didn't think necessary.
Comfortable King size bed, warm room, large clean bathroom. Couldn't fault the room at all.
3-course dinner included in the grill room. Lovely choice from menu. Relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant (not stuffy or impersonal) friendly, happy staff and delicious food, beautifully presented.
The only complaint would be about the swimming pool being in a separate building from the main hotel, therefore you had to go outside to access it. It would be a lot better (particularly in the winter months) if there was a covered walkway leading to the pool.
Breakfast served in the Grill Room again the following morning. Good selection from the buffet, not the best breakfast ever, but certainly not the worst.
The deal is a fantastic offer, for such a prestigious hotel. If you want to treat yourself to a little luxury at an affordable price, then this is the offer for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your feedback with the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Down Hall in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a winter warmer retreat in this hotel and it turned out to be a mixture of very good and very bad. The bad first:

A balcony literally covered in dog ends
Hairs in the shower
Freezing cold room
Hairdryers that are worse than useless
A half-frozen apple Danish instead of the 'warm apple pie' we were promised as part of the package
Indifferent attitude when I complained (eventually offered free bottle of wine)

And the good:

It's a beautiful old house in stunning grounds
The restaurant - the food here is quite simply superb and the service was impeccable. I had one of the best meals of my life here and I have eaten in Michelin starred restaurants across the world

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mart12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DownHallManagement, Manager at Down Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Down Hall here and I am sorry to hear that your stay was not everything you expected it to be. I would be grateful if you could send us details of your reservation (name and date) to info@downhall.co.uk so we can address these issues with the relevant departments such as Housekeeping. I will certainly share your feedback with the management team.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience in the Grill Room and I will share your feedback with our Head Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews