We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel excellent, leisure facilities not” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Down Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hatfield Heath
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel excellent, leisure facilities not”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed last weekend on a Wowcher deal, the hotel itself is lovely, very friendly staff and very helpful however the leisure facilities are sadly lacking, there are no lockers, the sauna in the ladies area was out of order, the changing room (if thats what you'd call it) was communal and very small and there were no loungers around the pool just a couple of plastic chairs that people had put clothes on. Also the floorboards in our room and on the landing creaked so bad, I have never experienced anything like it and I'm quite an easy going person, however on saying that if you're not bothered about the leisure facilities then this is a lovely place to stay. There was a very good choice of buffet style breakfast as well to suit everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    518
    287
    161
    111
See reviews for
237
767
22
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Thjis is a beatiful place withe excellent facilities.. The bedrooms are well appointed but in our case a little tired as the mould around the window frames and bath showed. Lovely bed though.
Quality of staff and service was generally excellent although one or two do need some education in customer liaison. One breakfast waitress was particularly rude when asked for cutlery.
Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of May 2012 for my partners birthday. Only now just getting around to writing a review as i have only just joined tripadvisor. Booked a 2 night stay with a 3 course dinner on both nights and breakfast each morning (plus a choice of afternoon tea/complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival) included in the price. Booked through offpeakluxury.com and stayed Sun-Tues. We went for the champagne!! ..it was a very lovely bottle costing around £45, but when we arrived the ice in the bucket had already melted!!! (we didn't arrive late either... checked in just after 2pm which is the allowed time for check in as it is with most hotels). On top of this, there were no glasses left with our bucket of water and champagne either! However, we simply rung reception and some were brought up right away by a very apologetic member of staff. Nothing was done about the melted ice but we didn't mind too much as the champagne was still nice and cold and was delicious!! Our room was very basic but nice for us. Classic, old fashioned decor in keeping with the ambiance of the hotel. The bathroom was very spacious; (seperate his & her sinks) and a very powerful shower/bath combo. The only issue we had with this was one of the sinks had a nasty smell from the drain when we ran any water. But we just avoided using this sink and used the other so it didn't effect us at all really. Upon checkout we did notify the staff of this though and they were very apologetic and got straight onto sorting it out as soon as we left. All in all very clean, just a little dated. But as i said this all went well together as part of the hotel.

The dinner on both evenings was superb! Lots of choice and all cooked and presented beautifully. Even on the second evening- when there wasn't anything we realy fancied on offer (we are not really into artsy fartsy food)- the chef prepared us something totally different to suit our tastes and as it was our final night and my partner's birthday, they presented us with a plate of handmade chocolates that read 'happy birthday' after our dessert. A very nice touch! The staff in the restaurant are all so attentive. There are some fantastic wines to sample (the reds being our favourite) and the staff were always on hand to pour and refill for you. The breakfast that we had as well both mornings was all very well cooked & presented again, with a good variety of choice. We particularly liked being able to order breakfat in bed to your room! This we took full advantage of and it added to the nice relaxing and romantic feel we'd been looking for in our break away. On our first full day there, we also sampled a couple of baguettes from the bar menu in the hotel bar for our lunch. These were gorgeous and came with chips and salad - really very scrummy!!

On our first day, we made full use of the hotels swimming pool and sauna's which is fairly small, but was again very clean and nice to chill out in. We were very lucky as what with it being a Monday, we had the whole swimming pool & facilities to ourselves! There is also a jacuzzi type bath at the end of the swimming pool too and these facilities are just a short walk across the courtyard with changing rooms available there. We also took an oppotunity to wander around the fantastic grounds Down Hall has to offer. The drive up to the hotel itself is very impressive - we felt like we'd stepped into Pride & Prejudice and couldn't wait to explore further!!

All in all, a very pleasant stay. Perhaps not luxury at it's best....but nice for us as we were just grateful to get away and be able to relax together!! I would stay here again as offpeakluxury.com offer this package from any length of time from 1 night to 7 nights stay....which means it caters for every occassion!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissNishxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've stayed in nearly all the hotel country houses in Hertfordshire and this is the worst! The curtains near the function rooms have holes. Cobwebs hung from the ceilings and light fixtures. Wallpaper peeling, chipped furniture, broken mirror, dirty bathrooms! Threadbare cushions and chairs. Stained carpets and upholstery. The pool is not connected by a corridor and you must go outdoors to access it. There are no lockers to keep your things and the sauna was not working in the ladies. The jacuzzi was tiny and not hot, as it's just a corner of the pool with bubbles. They allow dogs, so we had to listen to dogs barking and yipping all night. If you are there when a wedding party is; then be prepared to hear music all night. The walls in the restaurant had crumbs and wine stains. The chairs had netting hanging from underneath. Very run down! Stay elsewhere like Pendley manor which has a proper spa.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hatfield Heath hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Not luxurious at all. We went on a special deal - £99 for bed & breakfast and 3 course dinner. It worked out about half price for everything which, to be honest, is about the right price for what we got. Nasty smell in the corridors, with a tray of used glasses and empty bottles on a hallway table all afgternoon and evening. Small room, looked like it was relatively recently refurbished in a kind of cheap Travelodge style (perhaps being disrespectful of Travelodge, sorry). Bathroom very tired, old curtain rail still there even though a screen had replaced the curtain. Fan didn't work so mould growing on the ceiling. Old toilet with broken flush.

Dinner was very nice and good value on the deal even with £8 supplement for the rib eye.

Woken at midnight and 1 am by drunken slobs leaving the wedding party (or actually being evicted as it turns out), threatening to bottle the duty manager and shouting obnoxious and abusive language. Had to complain twice.

Breakfast very very busy. Again, more package deal hotel buffet than luxury country house hotel. Big queue for the inadequate toaster. Couldn't be bothered to argue with the chavs hogging it so had dry bread instead...

1 star for the dinner and 1 star for the apology at checkout for the early morning fracas.

In summary, don't pay full price to stay here unless you want to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the front of the hotel if there is a function on because you will be woken by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Down Hall is a firm favorite with our Social Group, we attend the Hotel approx 4 times a year and we always look forward to our Black tie Balls in the Bridgeman Selwyn suite where we have over 180 guests.
The surroundings are breathtaking and the staff are friendly and helpful, we have many guests who stay in the bedrooms which are comfortable and well appointed, many look over the beautiful well kept gardens that surround the hotel.
Breakfast is always varied and plentiful with plenty of healthy options which suit the ladies who are watching their wastline.
I would definately recommend this fabulous Hotel for any type of gathering big or small especially weddings. We are looking forward to return at the end of February and we cannot wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here last weekend, and whist I had a lovely time with my partner, I felt some aspects of the hotel let it down. From the outside the hotel is beautiful, and inside the surroundings are very grand and ornate. However, on arrival we waited for ten minutes to receive any acknowledgement from a receptionist and couldnt find anywhere to have a drink. Thankfully our room was ready even though we were early. The room was very spacious and beautifully light, with lovely views across the garden. However, the fixtures and fittings were quite tired, with torn upholstery and a minibar which was broken. We were permitted to store our bottle of wine in the hotel fridge, but this was far from ideal, especially as we were two flights of stairs up, and the lift was out of order. I wonder how any disabled or elderly guests coped with this? We left the hotel and found a very nice tearoom a few miles away. Later we swam in the hotel pool, which was rather small and had a ledge all around the inside, which we both knocked our arms on and grazed ourselves. I was disappointed that the sauna in the ladies changing room was out of order too. In the evening we chose to eat in a local pub, and on returning to the hotel we decided to have a drink in the bar. What a mistake!!! My small glass of wine and my partners pint of beer cost us £10.50. We had a good nights sleep and a very nice breakfast the following morning. Therefore on the whole it was a very average stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield Heath
10.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
23.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Manor Of Groves Hotel
#1 of 1 in High Wych
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.9 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Down Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Down Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Matching Road | Bishop's Stortford, Hatfield Heath CM22 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hatfield Heath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Down Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down Hall Hotel is one of England's most established country house hotels. Located in Hatfield Heath, near Bishop's Stortford on the Hertfordshire and Essex border, Down Hall Hotel is 45 minutes from central London and also ideally located near London Stansted Airport. Dating back to 1322, this impressive Italianate mansion is an historic setting. The hotel's grand interiors, ornate ceilings and abundance of natural daylight combine to make Down Hall Country House Hotel an experience like no other. Down Hall has recently completed the refurbishment of 54 West Wing Executive bedrooms and added a brand new gym, sauna and steam room facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Down Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Down Hall Country Hotel
Down Hall Hotel
Hotel Down Hall Country
Down Hall Country House Hotel Hatfield Heath, Hertfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing