We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Roast”
Review of The Duke's Head

The Duke's Head
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Duke's Head serves modern British cuisine in the heart of the quintessential Essex village. 'Village Pub & Dining' explains our concept perfectly. A warm, friendly, atmospheric pub, which happens to do excellent, locally sourced food! Along with friendly, helpful service, perfect pints and very good wine, this is somewhere that anyone would like to spend a few hours. Relaxing on our sunny patio under pretty parasols, with the children running in the garden or hiding in the quaint tree house or warming you feet in front of a roaring fire, with your dog by your side! Whatever the weather, a warm welcome is always guaranteed at The Duke's Head.
essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Roast”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Once again had a fantastic meal with family, staff excellent with young children and food is some of the best pub food in the region.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank essextravelcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    90
    38
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little gem with excellent choice, food and service”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Popped out Tuesday night for a quick bite and was overwhelmed by just how good this place has become - outstanding

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M1SEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOME COOKED FOOD!!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Colleagues recommended this Restaurant to me, and wow did it live up to expectations!!

Large choice of menu ... we were a group of around 16 so they asked us to preorder our meny, and we were offered what they said was a smaller selection, but to be honest it was absolutely fine ... great choice .. actually SPOILED for choice!

Recommend the Maple Smoked Organic Salmon & Brixham Crab Cake for starters and the King Prawn Spaghetti for mains!!

Going again with another group tomorrow night ..... can't wait !!

Service was good very good also.

If you are in the area, DEFINITELY give it a try .. you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knight30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had an excellent meal with friends last night at this friendly pub, very good food, atmosphere was great and service was just the right speed. Bit of a glitch with pudding but soon resolved, nothing seemed to be any trouble.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stebbing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service of a 'noble order'”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went for dinner on Saturday evening as a party of six. Staff were very welcoming and their was a lovely atmosphere. My meal (Bubble & Squeak, Lamb shank Tagine, Treacle Tart) was delicious and plentiful. Husband had the Beef Cobbler which was a little dry. We all had a lovely evening but my only suggestion, not criticism, is that wine should be opened at the table, not brought to the table already opened. We will certainly visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyMHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Duke's Head also viewed

Hatfield Heath, Hertfordshire
Hatfield Broad Oak, Essex
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Duke's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing