We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This as you can tell was our second visit to this very modern and very clean hotel. The staff are very good indeed especially the restaurant staff. We both had the food recommended by the restaurant manager and it was fantastic we both really polo enjoyed it yet again.breakfast is also very good. We love the big spacious bedrooms and the shower.would thourally recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank freshesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your second visit to Beales Hotels.

I rate second reviews highly, as it is relatively easy to make a first visit a success, but often much harder to replicate this a second time around for our guests, as particular staff may be on holidays, or on well-earned days off.

The restaurant team, headed up by Alex Hendon, is very professional, and we have consistently good reviews about the food, which is unexpectedly good for what is a predominantly business location.

Do come again for those third and fourth visits ! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to this lovely hotel.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    214
    80
    15
    12
See reviews for
78
303
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
N. E. England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel in March this year. We were impressed on that occasion and standards remain high. Once again my son his wife and their daughter dined here on a couple of nights. The restaurant Manager remembered us and accommodated our needs again in very accomplished manner.
This Hotel is in possession of a dedicated team of staff which sometimes is not the case in chain Hotels today.
My only adverse observation is in relation to the poor expel air system in the bathroom of room 47.
In conclusion we have stayed at a number of Hotels in this area none of which were poor but would recommend the Beales as the best option.

Room Tip: All the same thus cannot see any advantages unless one wants to be located on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitges57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so delighted that you have had a couple of successful visits to the hotel and that the restaurant team remembered you.

We have tracked down the bathroom extract fan problem to a blown fuse, which has now been rectified.

Do come back when you are down the A1 from the north east again ! It would be a pleasure to welcome you all back again.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. Rooms were modern and comfortable, but I found the bed to be softer than I like. A colleague and I tried the restaurant in the evening at it was a major disappointment. The 3 main issues were 1. Food was bland and lacked any flavour, 2. Small portions and 3. Expensive.

Also, the hotel doesn't have a gym, but you can use the facilities at "Hertfordshire Sport Centre". Don't be fooled by the name, it's basically the Gym on the Uni campus.

Overall, I'd recommend a stay here but don;t eat at the restaurant. There's a mall across the road and has a load of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d33_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food in Outsidein Restaurant. Your comments about the food are the very first to express disappointment for many many months, as so many people rave about the menus and the cuisine at the hotel.

I can't agree that we are expensive, with all our main courses at just £13.50 but if the food was bland then I am of course sorry.

The Hertfordshire Sports Village is the largest sports centre in Hertfordshire, used by students of the University of Hertfordshire as well as by many local residents and businesses, and includes a climbing wall, enormous pool, and a huge gym with state of the art equipment.

It is free to use for Beales hotel residents, and just a 5 minute walk around the corner. I am sorry you did not like it, but many hundreds of our hotel guests have enjoyed the facilities during the year.

I am glad that overall you gave us 4/5, and thank you for your review.

Regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moldova
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I consider that make sense to write few words about this hotel. It was a real pleasure to stay in this hotel (around 5 weeks). Friendly staff at reception, restaurant (chef Diego, Sumi and others), excellent housekeeping (Kate do brilliant job). Continue to do you daily job - you are the best. For management: It make sense to think how to improve ventilation in bedrooms. Really enjoyed and relax in this hotel. I don't know other hotel in Hatfield which may offer services at this level.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel after your extended stay in the hotel.

I am delighted that you got to know many of the staff, this of course is what happens in a happen when one stays more than just a night or two, and makes our job infinitely more enjoyable.

I am also so pleased that we looked after you well in every department.

We have air conditioning in every bedroom of the hotel, (the only hotel in Hertfordshire to be fully air conditioned in every part of the public and private areas), and have to have window retainers on the opening windows to prevent guests opening them too wide for health and safety, and security, reasons.

Do come again for another extended stay, and thank you for such kind words,

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights ( due to its close location to the uni) and found it clean and quiet enough . We have chosen it because of the good reviews here on tripadvisor and the local taxi drivers have confirmed that this indeed is the best hotel in the area .
The rooms were comfortable and so were the bathrooms , the only thing that I would have liked was to have a safe in the room .
The wifi in the rooms had an ok connection and the location of the hotel is very convenient .
Overall , we would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel,

It was a pleasure to have you to stay at this hotel.

Thank you for telling us that the local taxi drivers think we are the best hotel in town !

It is great to have a recommendation from the local cabbies, who get to hear all the gossip from all the hotels, via their customers in the back. They always know which are the best hotels, restaurants etc as their fares tell them !

We have safes in all the executive bedrooms at Beales Hotel, and are planning to install safes into the Contemporary bedrooms in due course.

Do come back next time you are over in Hertfordshire from beautiful Vienna.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A lovely clean modern hotel. The rooms are spacious with lovely bathrooms and very comfortable beds. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good and the breakfast was very well set out and there was everything you could ask for. The lift was not working when we were there so a bit of a trek with bags up to the first floor. however we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad we looked after you well and that you had a pleasant stay with a good dinner and breakfast.

Sorry that the lift wasn't working - we took the lift out of service on Friday 27th September to re-tile the floor, and for some reason we could not get it back on that evening.

The engineers have been in today (Monday 30th September) and have resolved the problem.

Thankfully Beales Hotel is only low-rise with only one upper floor !

The lift at our sister West Lodge Park hotel is more temperamental, and there we have four storeys to cope with !

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Beales Hotel.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Mr Beale. I don't know how you do it but well your staff are such a good team!
I've stayed at West Park which is by far my favourite but Hatfield is equally good and we went wild in the Galeria. A romantic weekend can be had at Hatfield it's superb! Modern contemporary so interesting to know about the artists and artwork. Love the history of the place. It's great and I have to congratulate you all on a great team. Lovely meals and clean pleasant rooms.
One suggestion dining chairs looking a bit grubby.. Maybe a darker colour next time!! But we had a fantastic time. Would stay again when we are in the area. But we will definitely be going to West Park very soon. Thank you. BEALES HOTELS are an experience not to be missed and offer great service and value for money! And no I don't work for them or get paid to review! Good service deserves recognition and recommendation it's not easy to find these days.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Wow what a super review of Beales Hotel, thanks so much !

I am delighted you have tried both hotels now, both very different but with the same good service levels, motivated and caring staff, and both are the highest rated four star hotels in their respective areas.

There is not a simple answer to the question "I don't know how you do it", other than to give a boring answer that it is a lot of hard work by a lot of people (160 or so in the company), relentless attention to detail, and learning from our mistakes when we mess up.

Hotel keeping has become increasingly hard during this recession, and the advent of social media such as Tripadvisor has meant that we are always somewhat on edge these days, fearing the next review.

And unlike most organisations, we never close, not even for a minute in the year. At Beales Hotel we have been trading non stop since 1964 while at West Lodge Park, we opened our doors in 1945 and haven't shut them since !

We will get the dining chairs cleaned immediately, of course, and will look forward to welcoming you back to either West Lodge Park or Beales Hotel in the future.

And tell me sometime how it is possible to go wild in the Galleria !!! I am all ears.......!

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,042 reviews
7.4 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
2.6 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Property: Beales Hatfield Hotel
Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing