We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Is Four Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
N. E. England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It Is Four Star”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently stayed three nights here. One often departs from a four star thinking it should be three. this was not the case here my wife and I agreed it merited the four rating.
My son and daughter in law who live in Welwyn came to dine on two nights with their 18 month daughter.
The restaraunt staff accommodated our needs in apolite professional manner.
The maid often the unsung hero kept our room 52 in immaculate condition.

Our stay was enjoyable but to small points.
To many add on prices within the menu. Flexibility yes to a degree but appears to the eye as perhaps a bit of a money grabber. The food was however good dining.
From a safety standpoint clear glass panels within the hotel need to be marked in my opinion.

We will return to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitges57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

You are right that many four star hotels feel borderline 3 star - in particular this seems to be the case with seaside hotels, or chain hotels where the profits have not been reinvested from one year to the next as we do.

Beales Hotel is currently the highest rated four star hotel in Herts with 2 AA rosettes for the cuisine, and 79% quality rating for all aspects of our service.

A word about supplements - we deliberately keep menu prices low to encourage our residents to dine in, and currently have 22 dishes on our winter restaurant menu, just five of which have a supplement like fillet steak or sea bass due to their much higher price.

Do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Beales Hotel !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    214
    80
    15
    12
See reviews for
78
303
24
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for one night,we had purchased a deal with travel zoo,the check in was straightforward
and the receptionist was very pleasent,the rooms were spacious and had everything in the room to make the
stay more relaxing.
the food for the evening meal was very good and so was the breakfast in the morning the staff were pleasent
and helpful,great location for shopping,all in all a good time,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad you enjoyed your Travelzoo weekend break.

Although you didn't travel far to get to the hotel, I am glad you made use of the facilities in the local area - in particular the Galleria Outlet Centre which is opposite the hotel, as well as the Howard Centre in Welwyn Garden City, and (more attractively) St Albans Saturday market. All these places are within minutes of the hotel.

Do come again soon, I am sure we will be doing another Travelzoo offer before long.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed in The Beales Hotel for 2 nights and the rooms were lovely. The waitors and waitresses were kind but the food and the restaurant is poor. I know it is hard to extend a restaurant however I believe that would be a good idea. Hatfield is a lovely location just outside London. It's all nice except don't go with kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alnmat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your rooms, and that you also enjoyed Hatfield and the surrounding area, not something many of our guests comment upon.

I am a bit mystified by your comment about the restaurant and food being poor, and you saying don't bring the kids. We have children's menu prices on our menus, at a very reasonable £8.50 for mains and £4.00 for any starters or desserts as well as big discounts at breakfast.

Without more detail I can't really comment further, but I do know that it would be a pleasure to welcome you all back to Beales Hotel in the future.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Upon visiting Beales Hotel, Hatfield, I was most pleasently suprised by the impressive building and how well kept/clean it was.

I loved the art posted through out the hotel, and found myself gazing at a few pieces for ages..
All staff were curteous. The room was spacious, and very comfortable. The only down side was that the crockery was quite badly tea/coffee stained and the bed literally moved away from the headboard when I sat up in bed to watch the TV... At breakfast I felt very rushed.... Came down at 9.10 am...And told Breakfast was closing and had to order my breakfast.
That hasn't deterred me from returning as the restaurant for the evenng meal was genuinely out of this world.
I had The Soup- Divine... then the Beef Wellington- Amazing, then I managed to have room for the dessert.
I will be back.. Just hope the beds have brakes on now :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna0473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your evening meal, and that you also noticed the dramatic modern artwork around the hotel - all 130 or so works of art come from the students and staff of the adjacent University of Hertfordshire Fine Art department.

I'm sorry that the bed moved in the way it did - I can only assume the castors on your divan base were not braked at the time. I am also sorry that you were rushed at breakfast, this should not be the case at all.

Do come again when you are next over from Basildon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to this lovely hotel.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel having purchased a deal through Travel Zoo for a three course meal and one night accommodation.
First impressions of the hotel were that it was very well presented.
The check in was straight forward with the lady at reception giving us all the information we needed and the room was very clean and comfortable. In the information pack in the room was a note from the owner telling us that should we have a problem that his staff cannot resolve please just text or call his mobile, for which the number was provided. I have never seen this before and thought it showed a rare confidence in his hotel and his staff.
The art theme running through the hotel was an interesting touch, with detail on each piece as you would find in a gallery.

We decided to have a pre meal drink at the bar which was again professionally delivered.
Our table in The Outside In restaurant was comfortable and the ambience perfect.
The only problem I had was choosing my meal from the menu as 'All of the above please' was not an option!
Our waiter was extremely helpful and talked us through the menu, discussing only the merits of each choice as there were seemingly no down sides.
Eventually I made my choice and every course was delicious, but, and I must emphasise this... It is all about the lamb! I understand that the chef (formerly a certain Mr Ramsay's pastry chef) changes his menu weekly.
If you are going to this restaurant to eat and you see lamb cooked two ways on the menu I would stongly recommend you try it.

Very nice hotel, great food, will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for a very detailed and kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad that your stay was so successful.

I do indeed put my mobile phone number available for all our guests to phone me 24 hours a day, with one caveat - that you ask the staff on duty for assistance first and only call me if they can't fix the query.

As a result I do not get many calls in the course of a year, as all our staff can pretty much solve most problems or queries, although I did have one rather irate lady once who phoned me on a Sunday morning from our sister hotel West Lodge Park to complain that although we had wellies in sizes 5 -10, we didn't have any for her size 4 feet !

I am very glad you enjoyed the lamb which comes from Andrew Humphreys, a third generation farmer from Blixes Farm in Fairstead, Essex. All his lambs receive feed hand mixed by Andrew, who also changes their bedding daily and provides them with fresh straw for forage.

With all the hullabaloo over the horse meat scandal, and a supermarket supply chain that seems to stretch from Romania to Ireland via Luxembourg, France, Holland and goodness knows where else, we are proud to have just three butchers supplying all our meat at Beales Hotels, all of whom are also farmers in their own right too, so that the supply chain to your dinner table is as short as it could possibly be.

Do come again and thank you for taking the time to write up your visit to Beales Hotel for the benefit of all Tripadvisor readers.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as a single business traveller and as I visit Welwyn pretty often I was looking for a hotel I could count on, however based on this stay I will not be returning.
The check in was fine and the room is good quality and very clean but the service I received in the restaurant was poor particularly from the female member of staff who seemed to be in a dream. She completely forgot my wine order and although I eventually got it from another waiter, by this time I had already received my meal.
The buffet breakfast was typically lukewarm and guess what -this time she forgot my order for a pot of tea.
The receptionist managed my entire check out with barely a word and a look of complete disgust on her face -it was so bad my colleague noticed it from across the hall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for passing on your comments about Beales Hotel.

I am pleased that you received a good check in and found your room to be of good quality and clean.

I am sorry we gave you a less than friendly checkout and a rather variable service in the restaurant.

We were training a new young member of staff and it is she who forgot your wine order and your tea order.

Please give us another chance, I can assure you that the service you received was far from typical, and you will see many satisfied reviews on Tripadvisor and elsewhere.

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayedvhere for a friends birthday party held bin the hotel. Check in easy, staff friendly and helpful. Rooms very nice, clean comfortable and towels that actually cover you! Ample parking available, function rooms good, hotel laid on special room for all the party staying to breakfast together. Would be happy to stay again and recommend to anyone staying locally. 5 min walk from Galleria

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad that we looked after you so well, and that you enjoyed your stay and the party.

I am glad you noticed the towels - many hotels seem to cut costs by offering sub standard towels. We have always insisted on decent towels for our guests, as well as quality bed linen (Egyptian cotton), and comfortable duvets and pillows (goose feather and down).

Maybe this is the difference between some of the large chains which just seem to cut more and more costs each year, and proudly independent hotels like our own.

Do come again soon, whether for a party with family with family and friends, or just for a relaxing break.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,043 reviews
7.4 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
2.6 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Property: Beales Hatfield Hotel
Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing