We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a girlie weekend. Found it very comfortable and staff friendly. Had a lovely meal in restaurant although they had run out of Lamb. Breakfast was really good, all in all a very reasonable priced stay. Would come here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesouth51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your girls weekend away !

I don't know what you did while you were with us, but the Galleria shopping centre is just across the road, as is a large Odeon cinema, while the lovely towns of St Albans and Welwyn Garden City are just minutes away by car.

It would be a great pleasure to host another weekend for you in due course.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 667 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Myself and husband booked for 2 nights bed and breakfast with a deal from secret escapes,we chose it for the location of the galleria shopping mall,so glad we did,the young lady on reception was so friendly and welcoming,our room was lovely and clean with plenty of extras,the bed was superb and so comfy,breakfast was included in our deal and again superb,staff were great and saw to our needs,something for everyone from fresh fruit to full breakfast,we couldn't fault it,didn't try the restaurant but saw what people were eating and it looked good,we even left our phone charger in the room and a phone call when we arrived home to the hotel was left with them agreeing to post it on to us,not got it yet but sure it will arrive,can't beat that for service and helpfulness,we would defiantly recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking to stay in the area,and hopefully we will be back for another break,thanks to all who made our stay so nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjw45_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind review following your visit to Beales Hotel courtesy of Secret Escapes.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit, and that you found the staff welcoming.

Being a long established family business that started in 1769 and is some 8 generations old, we have a different way of treating our staff than the anonymous chain hotels, and many of the team at Beales Hotel have been with us for years.

That is not to say that we are not receptive to new ideas, and of course Beales Hotel is the ultimate expression of modernity, with dramatic architecture and wonderful artwork.

Do come again to the hotel when you are in the area !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel, we had a bit of a deal on it so the price was very good and had dinner in the restaurant too.
The room was large and very nice, would have been nice to have had a view, but given it's location, this was as expected.
We tend not to use lifts when staying in a hotel, and found at first the staircase was not easy to find and a little awkward to use.
The evening meal was good, although some of the evening Restaurant staff were a little surly, breakfast was more relaxed and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chillie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the food was good, although sorry of course that the restaurant staff were a little off form at dinner but had recovered their usual good humour by the next morning.

Do come again when you are next down from Stoke on Trent, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having stayed at Beales in January which was a great experience, we decided to visit again, but for two nights this time. It was just as smart and super clean as on our first visit. The top food hygine rating of 5 which is proudly displayed at Reception was reassuring. If only all such establishments were legally obliged to display theirs, good or bad!

The thing about this hotel which most impresses is the staff, most of whom can only be described as being excellent, particularly the receptionist on our arrival on the 19th, and again on our departure on the 21st when she was ably assisted by the Reception Manager because of the number of guests all leaving at 11am! The Canadian guest who complained about a wake-up call, or the lack of one, seems to be totally over critical. Why doesn't he invest in an alarm clock or a mobile phone like the rest of us?

Alex, the Restaurant Manager is also worthy of mention. He is one of those people who can be relied upon to find a way to willingly say yes to the minor needs of a guest who is a picky eater, yes I must admit that is me, who always wants a switch to a different sauce or vegetable to the one offered on the menu!

We will certainly return to Beales at Hatfield.

Room Tip: We prefer upstairs, ie the 1st floor, but did stay on the ground floor last time. Either can be gua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind words from not one but two reviews of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad we looked after you so well the second time. It is often difficult in hotels to achieve a level of consistency of service when one is open 24/7, and 7 days a week - after all the hard working 80 or so staff at Beales Hotel must have a break sometimes !

I am delighted that we have a faultless 5 star rating for food hygiene, in addition to two AA rosettes for the cuisine, and the highest AA rating of any 4 star hotel in Herts.

At the same time, we are far from complacent and will deal politely with every complaint or constructive criticism - the old adage firmly applies to hotels that you are only as good as your last meal or stay.

Many thanks, and we look forward to your third visit in due course !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at the Beales hotel for the last 3 days of a business trip. The hotel is beautiful, and the staff are really friendly, but completely unable to complete any simple task. From giving incorrect directions, to not following through on a wake up call, I felt extremely disappointed. I figured a wake up call to be a pretty basic hotel feature. I, or anyone I work with, will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sydney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your review concerning Beales Hotel.

I think you are rather unfair calling all the staff incompetent. We did post your 5am wake up call to our system, but whether the phone was off the hook in the bedroom or for whatever reason, it seems that you did not receive it, whereas about 20 other guests that morning all received their calls. You checked out at 5.42am.

I am sorry that you and your colleagues will not be coming back to Beales Hotel, and would politely ask you to reconsider your decision, as we do offer a fantastic hotel, with great food and decor.

My sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This looked a beautiful hotel and we were quite excited to be staying there as we love very modern hotels. However although the decor was pleasing, especially all the art work, the actual comfort was less than desirable - the bed in particular was very soft and the springing was very loose, with the result that we kept falling into each other and were disturbed by every movement on the other half of the bed! We told the manager about this and he offered to put boards under the mattress (the in-room information stated that special bed boards were available for this purpose); however, after asking three times, what we were given was two small pieces of thin wood (left over furniture bits or door panels?) which were simply not up to the job and made no difference at all. So we had two disturbed nights - not good when you have a 250 mile drive next day. A pity, because however beautiful the hotel, the most important thing is to have a good night's sleep, which we did not get. In this respect we have found better beds in the Premier Inns or Hilton Hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for your review of bedroom 50 at Beales hotel.

I am sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable and I have this afternoon organised for the purchase of many more bed boards for those guests who prefer a firmer bed.

We get many very positive comments about the quality of the Hypnos beds at the hotel as well.

I am glad we looked after you in every other way, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Beales Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding, they had done the catering for over 100 people, the food was wounderfull a full 4 course, the food was hot and the the service first class, the staff could not do enough for us. The room was spotless clean, one of the best beds iv slept in for a long time, breakfast was great everything you could want from full englist to fruit, cakes etc the staff just could not do enough would definately go back again thanks ........

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynette218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review of Beales Hotel.

I was particularly pleased to see that you enjoyed your friend's wedding at the hotel - it is surprising how few wedding guests will take the time to review the hotel, perhaps for fear of offending their hosts.

Anyhow I am delighted that everything went so well.

Do come again when you are next down this way from Leicestershire, whether for a wedding or just for a nice weekend break !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
7.4 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
4.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
2.6 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range: $107 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking with high speed electric charging for all models of electric cars. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing