We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel, we had a bit of a deal on it so the price was very good and had dinner in the restaurant too.
The room was large and very nice, would have been nice to have had a view, but given it's location, this was as expected.
We tend not to use lifts when staying in a hotel, and found at first the staircase was not easy to find and a little awkward to use.
The evening meal was good, although some of the evening Restaurant staff were a little surly, breakfast was more relaxed and very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of Beales Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the food was good, although sorry of course that the restaurant staff were a little off form at dinner but had recovered their usual good humour by the next morning.

Do come again when you are next down from Stoke on Trent, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    208
    75
    15
    11
See reviews for
74
297
23
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Having stayed at Beales in January which was a great experience, we decided to visit again, but for two nights this time. It was just as smart and super clean as on our first visit. The top food hygine rating of 5 which is proudly displayed at Reception was reassuring. If only all such establishments were legally obliged to display theirs, good or bad!

The thing about this hotel which most impresses is the staff, most of whom can only be described as being excellent, particularly the receptionist on our arrival on the 19th, and again on our departure on the 21st when she was ably assisted by the Reception Manager because of the number of guests all leaving at 11am! The Canadian guest who complained about a wake-up call, or the lack of one, seems to be totally over critical. Why doesn't he invest in an alarm clock or a mobile phone like the rest of us?

Alex, the Restaurant Manager is also worthy of mention. He is one of those people who can be relied upon to find a way to willingly say yes to the minor needs of a guest who is a picky eater, yes I must admit that is me, who always wants a switch to a different sauce or vegetable to the one offered on the menu!

We will certainly return to Beales at Hatfield.

Room Tip: We prefer upstairs, ie the 1st floor, but did stay on the ground floor last time. Either can be gua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind words from not one but two reviews of Beales Hotel.

I am so glad we looked after you so well the second time. It is often difficult in hotels to achieve a level of consistency of service when one is open 24/7, and 7 days a week - after all the hard working 80 or so staff at Beales Hotel must have a break sometimes !

I am delighted that we have a faultless 5 star rating for food hygiene, in addition to two AA rosettes for the cuisine, and the highest AA rating of any 4 star hotel in Herts.

At the same time, we are far from complacent and will deal politely with every complaint or constructive criticism - the old adage firmly applies to hotels that you are only as good as your last meal or stay.

Many thanks, and we look forward to your third visit in due course !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at the Beales hotel for the last 3 days of a business trip. The hotel is beautiful, and the staff are really friendly, but completely unable to complete any simple task. From giving incorrect directions, to not following through on a wake up call, I felt extremely disappointed. I figured a wake up call to be a pretty basic hotel feature. I, or anyone I work with, will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sydney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review concerning Beales Hotel.

I think you are rather unfair calling all the staff incompetent. We did post your 5am wake up call to our system, but whether the phone was off the hook in the bedroom or for whatever reason, it seems that you did not receive it, whereas about 20 other guests that morning all received their calls. You checked out at 5.42am.

I am sorry that you and your colleagues will not be coming back to Beales Hotel, and would politely ask you to reconsider your decision, as we do offer a fantastic hotel, with great food and decor.

My sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory stay.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This looked a beautiful hotel and we were quite excited to be staying there as we love very modern hotels. However although the decor was pleasing, especially all the art work, the actual comfort was less than desirable - the bed in particular was very soft and the springing was very loose, with the result that we kept falling into each other and were disturbed by every movement on the other half of the bed! We told the manager about this and he offered to put boards under the mattress (the in-room information stated that special bed boards were available for this purpose); however, after asking three times, what we were given was two small pieces of thin wood (left over furniture bits or door panels?) which were simply not up to the job and made no difference at all. So we had two disturbed nights - not good when you have a 250 mile drive next day. A pity, because however beautiful the hotel, the most important thing is to have a good night's sleep, which we did not get. In this respect we have found better beds in the Premier Inns or Hilton Hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of bedroom 50 at Beales hotel.

I am sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable and I have this afternoon organised for the purchase of many more bed boards for those guests who prefer a firmer bed.

We get many very positive comments about the quality of the Hypnos beds at the hotel as well.

I am glad we looked after you in every other way, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Beales Hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding, they had done the catering for over 100 people, the food was wounderfull a full 4 course, the food was hot and the the service first class, the staff could not do enough for us. The room was spotless clean, one of the best beds iv slept in for a long time, breakfast was great everything you could want from full englist to fruit, cakes etc the staff just could not do enough would definately go back again thanks ........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynette218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review of Beales Hotel.

I was particularly pleased to see that you enjoyed your friend's wedding at the hotel - it is surprising how few wedding guests will take the time to review the hotel, perhaps for fear of offending their hosts.

Anyhow I am delighted that everything went so well.

Do come again when you are next down this way from Leicestershire, whether for a wedding or just for a nice weekend break !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay using a Trvelzoo voucher. Initially the exterior made us think this did not look like a hotel but what a real treat this is . Very warm welcome on reception . Room was excellent with plently of mirrors making this a very light room . vEry clean and well set out. We had an evening meal in the restauarant and my goodness this was one of the best meals we have had for quite a while. We would go there just for a meal if we lived in the area. Excellent choice , well presented , great service . Breakfast was in the same area with plenty of choice . Hot food served on a buffet basis . There was a large wedding reception the same evening as our stay but the hotel coped admirably. The reception being in a different area. The location is opposite a Factory Outlet Complex and a short drive to Hatfield. We decided to drive a shoort distance to St.Albans and would recommend a visit with it's mixture of historic building and modern precints . A most enjoyable weekend and we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santana1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Wow what a fab review, thank you so much,

You traveled all the way from lovely Somerset, and I am so glad that you enjoyed both the hotel and the local area.

St Albans is a beautiful cathedral city, and just minutes away from Beales Hotel.

Do come again when you are in the area, it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a really great hotel, stuck in the middle of nowhere, but the accomadation was nice and we have a deal that included the evening meal and breakfast which were lovely. I would definately go back, especially if i could get the deal again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise07Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel and I am glad you had a good break at the hotel.

Yes you could describe it as stuck in the middle of nowhere, but I would say that it is ultra convenient for everything including the Galleria Shopping Centre, Hertfordshire Sports Village where all residents have complimentary membership of the huge pool and gym, the Odeon multiplex cinema just across the road, etc etc.

And just a few minutes drive from St Albans, Hatfield House, Welwyn Garden City, and lovely Hertfordshire countryside, walks and pubs.

Do come again on the next Travelzoo or KGB offer - it would be great to welcome you back again !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
7.3 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
4.7 mi away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Property: Beales Hatfield Hotel
Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing