We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel zoo Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Travel zoo Bargain”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here 31st August prior to visiting paralympics. Great base on the outskirts of London for commuting into the capital or if you've got money burning a hole in your pocket, pop across the road to the Galleria and restock your wardrobe. As for the hotel. All said previously. Plenty of parking, great welcome by receptionist - 1st impressions! Stayed in standard room and this was very clean and well equipped. Throughout the hotel were top quality pieces of artwork which had been done by students at the nearby uni. Dinner in the hotel was fantastic. All staff were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great as well - self service, continental, full English, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals - something for everyone. Nothing negative.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind Tripadvisor review.

I am so glad you were able to use Beales Hotel as a base just outside London for visiting the Paralympics, and I hope the games were as exciting to watch in person as they have been on TV.

The hotel is about 6 minutes from the South Mimms junction of the A1(M) and the M25, and for London one can just carry on down the A1(M) and quickly be at Brent Cross and Swiss Cottage - alternatively Hatfield Train station is a couple of minutes away and there are several trains an hour just down the line into London.

Do come again sometime when you are next down from Norwich !

Regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    215
    81
    17
    12
See reviews for
79
310
25
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
powys
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked this hotel with Travelzoo for myself & husband,& his parents, & were so pleased with the complete experience,we'd come back again.A modern hotel,but very comfy with attention to detail..Our room,(44)a double was quiet,spacious,very good bed,clean white bedding,feather duvet & feather pillows,good tea & coffee facilities with nice quality biscuits,water & wine in our room as part of the package too!Great bathroom,large white thick towels,lashings of hot water to enjoy a soak in the bath,(there is also a shower),good toiletries,all clean tiles & sparkling glass.We enjoyed a beautiful 3 course meal in the restaurant,locally sourced produce,all well presented,very polite staff..very fair prices..good selection.Breakfast was another fine feast,my in-laws said it was the best bacon they'd tasted in years, all buffet service,all really fresh..(we picked up the little booklet off the table & brought it home explaining where the produce was reared,not mass produced).We thoroughly recommend this hotel.Thanks to all the staff who made our stay a very pleasant one on Fri 31st Aug 2012.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sollady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Wow what a super review thank you so much !

I am delighted that you picked up the little Food and Drink brochure with the pictures of all the suppliers, and that you enjoyed the bacon at breakfast.

Much of the food at the hotel is delivered to us from very small local farmers including Bridget Borlase at Watton at Stone with her prize Simmental cows and Old Spot pigs, Corinne Joyce at Kneesworth with her 7500 free range chickens, Robert and Laura Strathern with their Fairfields Farm Crisps, and Ross Arnold with his line-caught fish.

Do come again soon, and thanks once again for such a lovely review !

With kindest regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed for one night on a Travelzoo deal. The hotel is contemporary in style and conveniently located opposite the Galleria shopping centre and close to Hatfield House.
We were in a standard bedroom which was modern, clean and comfortable. Our evening meal in the attractive dining room was excellent (especially the cheesecake!!). Service was friendly and efficient. My only minor criticism would be a lack of attention to detail at breakfast - we were shown to a table without spoons or sugar and I would have liked a toast rack. However, these are only minor issues and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of Beales Hotel !

I am glad you had such a good time, and made good use of the Travelzoo offer.

I am sorry about some breakfast missing items and will in particular look into the lack of toast racks as we have lots of these.

Next time you are over from Funchal (lucky you !), do pop in again to Beales Hotel, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back again !

Kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this Hotel Friday 24th august for a little rest and relaxation...what a find! Hotel was perfectly situated for shopping in Galleria, also close to Hatfield house. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, the room was spot on and the a la carte dinner was superb. To top it all the beds were so comfy and the breakfast was by far the best breakfast I have EVER had in any hotel....well done Beales, an independant Hotel that deserves praise, I will be recommending it to all my friends

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobs411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Wow what a lovely review !

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Beales Hotel and took advantage of the local attractions in the Galleria and Hatfield House.

We may not have sweeping majestic lawns at Beales Hotel (for those you need to come to our sister hotel West Lodge Park !), but it is very handily located for all sorts of activities.

Thank you for being so kind and next time you are in need of a break do come by again !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we stayed for 1 night on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. the hotel is modern, clean has ample parking and friendly staff. Dinner in the restaurant was of a high standard and for the price we paid a real bargain. Breakfast was on the buffet variety and perfectly good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blockheadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your dinner bed and breakfast stay at Beales Hotel.

I can't promise such low prices on our next offers with Travelzoo or KGB, but the reaction from our guests has been so overwhelmingly positive that we will be working with these intermediaries again before long.

In the meantime check out our own offers on the hotel website, and do come again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romford
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hatfield was not a destination we had ever considered until we saw an offer on Travelzoo. We might not go again for the town but certainly would to Beales Hotel - absolutely first class in every respect. There is little one can add to the many complimentary reviews already on this site - our room was modern, quiet and welcoming - a comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom with powerful shower over the bath. Bottled water was provided as well as two small bottles of wine on arrival and everything [air conditioning, TV etc] in the room worked faultlessly. The best was to come - dinner in the Outsidein restaurant was exceptional - food and service could not be faulted.
Only three small very minor points - a towel rail by the bathroom sink would be an advantage - as well as a dimmer for the bathroom light - bedroom has them, but bright lights for a night time bathroom visit are dazzling! [Have yet to stay in a hotel which does have a dimmed bathroom lights though!] A small fridge in the room would also have been appreciated.
A top class hotel and restaurant. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETPOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Wow what a superb review of the hotel !

I am very pleased with the success of the deeply discounted offers we have done this summer on Travelzoo, because it has kept the hotel busy at what is traditionally a quiet time of year for us.

A busy hotel is a happy hotel, with everyone in the team pulling together to look after our guests, and a great ambiance is created in the restaurant for dinner.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much, and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a great stay, a modern hotel, tastefully designed with great attention to detail. Bed was comfortable and the unique art only added to the hotel's individual style. I can safely say the food was some of the best we have tasted. Presented well, locally sourced and one male staff member in particular was very helpful when recommending dessert and a credit to the team. Breakfast was delicious and although we only stayed for one evening the whole experience was faultless and we would go back anytime. A great Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boathousehythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Beales Hatfield Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of Beales Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was particularly pleased that you enjoyed the food so much.

We try to be completely different to the mainstream chain hotels and restaurants that dominate in Hatfield and everywhere else, and have deliberately set out to create good food with very local produce and a weekly changing menu, something that has earned us two AA rosettes for the cuisine.

It would be super to welcome you back some time in the future !

With kind regards,

Andrew Beale
Managing Director
Beales Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
7.4 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
4.1 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beales Hatfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beales Hatfield Hotel

Property: Beales Hatfield Hotel
Address: Comet Way, Hatfield AL10 9NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beales Hatfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning contemporary four star hotel, built in 2004, independently owned and run by the nine generation Beale family, with award winning cuisine, restaurant and bar, 53 bedrooms with modern facilities, excellent conference and banqueting areas, free unlimited parking with high speed electric charging for all models of electric cars. Over 130 original works of art throughout the building. Free membership of the Hertfordshire Sports Village (large pool, gym etc) less than 5 minutes walk away. Quiet location despite such a central position in Hatfield. Close to Hatfield House, St Albans, Knebworth House and trains to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Beales Hatfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beales Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Beales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing