We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good for an overnight business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good for an overnight business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Just had an overnighter here whilst working at the local hospital ..... Clean , good service .....mustn't grumble
Food in the bar was good fayre with a range of menu options

If you require local accommodation whilst on business this will foot the bill

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    193
    80
    25
    14
See reviews for
66
210
22
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

relaxed, value for money.

food to die for. it was delicious. lovely wine.

comfy beds and lovely showers. helpful and friendly staff.

useful location

no gym or spa but free use of the local leisure centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kattisamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I am delighted with your review.

Your experience is just what we are aiming for.

Thank you

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed on business, staff were welcoming and immediately replaced the light bulb which went out in my bathroom. Room was extremely clean. Breakfast service was superb. I did not have an evening meal but will try one next time. I felt very safe and comfortable in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Our head housekeeper Paulina and her ladies do a brilliant job and I am pleased you appreciated their efforts.

It is important to start the day on the right note and I was pleased you received good service at breakfast, please do have dinner with us on your next visit.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finningley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed for three night as on business nearby.

It's a little bit dated but don't let that put you off. My room was a decent size, and the bathroom, although not amazingly modern, was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well each night. Probably wouldn't be as good in warm weather though, with windows open the noise from the adjacent A1 was obtrusive.

The food in the restaurant was delicious and the portions generous. I had pork belly with red cabbage and new potatoes - excellent! Sirloin steak the night after was cooked exactly as asked and very tasty.

The jewel in the crown here though is the service. Every member of staff I met from the receptionist to the waiting staff were absolutely exceptional and a real credit to the hotel.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and really recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for your review.

I was very pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the service we offer. I am fortunate in having a lovely group of people working at the hotel who genuinely care and enjoy looking after people.

We also have lovely chefs who create super food, I am glad you thought the food was delicious.

On your next visit I hope you find the hotel less tired as we are in the process of redecorating all rooms (30% complete). We will also be refurbishing the restaurant which is due to be completed in mid November and laying new flooring in our foyer area next week.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Two of us came here on business.four nights stay.booking was made via poonam, who was FANASTIC. Check in was same.rooms exactly what we needed.the food however, and the girls that served us were something else. THE BEST!!! Will definitely stop here in future. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noddex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Poonam is indeed fabulous and I am glad you appreciated the service she offers,.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the service and food to be so good.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We travelled down from Manchester to drop our son off at the University for Freshers week. The hotel was perfectly situated as we could actually walk to the University!! The room was spacious and the bed a Queen size. Very clean and comfortable. would definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed our stay and found us so well located for the university.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just spent one night here at the Mercure whilst settling our daughter into nearby Hertfordshire University........along with most of that nights other residents!!
Reception staff were very welcoming, helping us locate a supermarket to stock up and even printing us out directions!
Room was fairly large and sufficient for our needs for one night. Bed was comfy, lighting was good, not a lot of storage, but we managed. No wardrobe in room, but plenty of hanging space. Bathroom was fine, clean with plenty of toiletries and fluffy towels.
We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal. Staff were lovely and food was fine, no problems here. Restaurant was busy and we were advised earlier on in the day to book, which we did.
My only criticism would be that the room was incredibly hot ....no heating was on but there is no AC! We tried to have the window open, but as the hotel is on a busy road, this didn't work! This is why my mark for sleep quality went down! It was WAY too hot to sleep comfortably. Think it could be unbearable in August heat!
Overall though, a good stay and would stay here again if we visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilinglady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, but sorry that you found the room too warm.

We are looking at ways in which we cam improve the few rooms affected by the heat on those particularly warm days and are confident in having a solution by next summer.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
3.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
3.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Property: Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Address: Roehyde Way, Hatfield AL10 9AF, England (Formerly Hatfield Oak Hotel )
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller, close to three motorways, the hotel is just 3 minutes from Junction 23 of the M25, 1 minute from Junction 2 and 3 of the A1(M), and close to the M1. Easy access to central London, which is just 25 minutes away by train. The hotel has Free WiFi for all guests and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing