We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll come here next time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll come here next time”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Two of us came here on business.four nights stay.booking was made via poonam, who was FANASTIC. Check in was same.rooms exactly what we needed.the food however, and the girls that served us were something else. THE BEST!!! Will definitely stop here in future. Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noddex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Poonam is indeed fabulous and I am glad you appreciated the service she offers,.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the service and food to be so good.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    219
    106
    35
    23
See reviews for
80
245
22
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We travelled down from Manchester to drop our son off at the University for Freshers week. The hotel was perfectly situated as we could actually walk to the University!! The room was spacious and the bed a Queen size. Very clean and comfortable. would definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed our stay and found us so well located for the university.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just spent one night here at the Mercure whilst settling our daughter into nearby Hertfordshire University........along with most of that nights other residents!!
Reception staff were very welcoming, helping us locate a supermarket to stock up and even printing us out directions!
Room was fairly large and sufficient for our needs for one night. Bed was comfy, lighting was good, not a lot of storage, but we managed. No wardrobe in room, but plenty of hanging space. Bathroom was fine, clean with plenty of toiletries and fluffy towels.
We ate in the restaurant for our evening meal. Staff were lovely and food was fine, no problems here. Restaurant was busy and we were advised earlier on in the day to book, which we did.
My only criticism would be that the room was incredibly hot ....no heating was on but there is no AC! We tried to have the window open, but as the hotel is on a busy road, this didn't work! This is why my mark for sleep quality went down! It was WAY too hot to sleep comfortably. Think it could be unbearable in August heat!
Overall though, a good stay and would stay here again if we visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilinglady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, but sorry that you found the room too warm.

We are looking at ways in which we cam improve the few rooms affected by the heat on those particularly warm days and are confident in having a solution by next summer.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a night following a friend’s wedding.

We stayed in an executive room, which was massive, with very comfortable bed, flat screen TV (though limited number of channels). The room had a coffee machine, bottled water (though one of the two bottles was sparkling which we didn’t drink), and a bowl of fruit. However, the bathroom could do with an upgrade and a good clean, as there was mould on the bath and shower, and the shower didn’t work properly.

Breakfast was quite expensive at £10 per person if you book in advance, or ridiculous £14.95 if you book on the day. It was nice enough, with nice fried eggs, bacon, mushrooms etc, and croissants, fruit salad, and juices. However, the plates were dirty, and the waitress dropped butter into my coffee cup, took it out with her fingers, and didn’t even offer to replace the coffee cup.. Also, there weren’t any napkins on the tables, which I found surprising and we had to use our own tissues.

The staff could have been nicer, at the check in we were in a great rush for the wedding, but the lady checking us in took forever to complete the process. Check out wasn’t as friendly as we could have wished either, such a shame!

Overall, we had a good stay. The hotel does need some maintenance attention and to put more emphasis on keeping things clean (especially plates etc at breakfast!!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina_007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Nina,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, although disappointed that there were a number of issues which needed better attention. I have shared your comments with our management team and they are taking appropriate action to ensure a more consistent high standard for future guests.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend break at this Hotel staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean and welcoming I say rooms as our shower wasn't working so we were given the key too another room in which we could shower.

Food was excellent and a good choice at breakfast. Good choice of drinks at the bar.

Would say though that the one thing that spoilt the stay slightly was the fact that the staff despite being friendly and helpful seemed not to communicate with each other we encountered a number of small problems the shower being one and on entering the other room we were given to shower was questioned by cleaning staff as to what I was doing no one had told them! likewise with other problems we had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSizmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found our food to be excellent.

I am sorry to read that you experienced a problem with the shower and that we did not communicate between ourselves effectively, I will of course share your information with our maintenance and reception teams so that we can improve for future guests.

Regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Visited the Hatfield Oak for the 3rd time last weekend, again on the All Inclusive deal.

As usual, food was fantastic, staff were friendly and hotel was superb. I really cannot fault this hotel - would definitely recommend the All Inclusive deal for two nights.

Cant really add anymore than I've already written on my two previous posts! Thanks again for a wonderful weekend. x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraAngmering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Sandra,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were again very happy with your stay.

Best wishes

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
656 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
1,062 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
498 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
3.8 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

Property: Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Address: Roehyde Way, Hatfield AL10 9AF, England (Formerly Hatfield Oak Hotel )
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please be aware that from 19th June to 2nd October we are continuing the refurbishments of all of our bedrooms. We aim to keep all noise to a minimum, and no works will be taking place over the weekends. Apologies for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your patience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing