We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”
Review of Ramada Hatfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Hatfield
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A recent business trip was made comfortable at the Ramada, on arrival there are plenty of reminders to register your car registration details at reception to prevent a hefty fine of £100.

The check in was swift and efficient, as a lone female traveller I asked for the room offered initially on the ground floor to be changed which was done immediately to the first floor.

The menu in the restaurant offered a good selection and the 'Catch of the Day' was delicious.

My room at the front of the hotel was adequate and had some nice finishes, the bed was comfy and despite having heavy traffic outside the hotel a good nights sleep was had.

The plumbing may need some maintenance as it took 25 minutes to run a bath although contrary to other reviews both the bath and shower water temperatures were more than hot enough.

The price is the going rate in the local area so provides value and the breakfast was well organised and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your 4 star review. I was thrilled to see a score of 5 stars for service and was pleased to read you enjoyed the "Catch of the Day".
We do try hard to advertise the need to register car number plates at reception so was pleased to read you felt there was adequate notification informing guests to do this.
The owners do read Trip Advisor and will take note of your feedback regarding the water pressure in the bedrooms with baths.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    293
    347
    144
    118
See reviews for
217
231
64
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BERKSHIRE UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This review is written to give some justice to this hotel . We read some of the reviews with some concern before going to the hotel. We felt apprehensive and wished we did not book there as we were in a hurry when we booked. We have travelled extensively and we can make good judgement of good hotels. I and my wife stayed there for two weeks and never regretted it. We had a good time . .First of all ,staff without any exception were very good ,polite , friendly and helpful. Whatever we had asked for it was immediately attended to.The room was big and comfortable. it may needed up dating.It was cleaned every day .We had several evening meals and it was delicious and enjoyable .The prices were the same as many as the local places, however water was quite expensive. The breakfast was quite reasonable and enough . It is optional if you want to add it, The hotel itself is much cheaper than most of other similar local hotels , 20--30% less. Booked on www.booking.com . We would like to thank in particular the reception's staff Rhiannan, the reception supervisor, Rita, the front office manager and Alexandra the receptionist . Actually it was fully booked most of the time . We would not hesitate to go back again and again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMICHAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your 4 star review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your 2 week stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding my team; it is great to hear, without exception they were all very good, polite, friendly & helpful. My Reception Team are however delighted that you singled them out for special praise!
I am also glad you found the hotel value for money; as you point out our rooms are big and the food delicious.
The team looks forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nothing wow about the place - water in shower was luke warm (both evening and morning) and the flushing system was broken.

Think the building is a listed building as its secondary glazed with no aircon so room was wam - and its right on a busy roundabout so not ideal if you're a light sleeper.

Other than that - the room served its purpose

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your 3 star review; I was pleased to see scores of 4 for location and cleanliness.
You are right the hotel is a grade II listed building so improvements to the property are controlled and restricted by the council but proposals are considered; the hotel owners do read Trip Advisor and will take note of your feedback regarding air conditioning.
I do apologise regarding the warmth of the water. Sadly the hotel experienced plant equipment faults during your stay. Engineers have attended site and parts have been ordered; a repair is now scheduled for tommorrow morning.
Although the hotel is now located near a busy roundabout over half of our bedrooms do face away from the roundabout so if you are a light sleeper please do request one of these bedrooms. I have some lovely pictures of the hotel in 1936 when the outlook was just country roads and fields; much development has happened around the hotel since those days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night , staff very pleasant, the Room was great but we would have appreicated hot water in our room to have a shower after traveling all day the need to freshen up is just what you want. We still did not have any for the morning either Also when we went down for our evening meal the fish was in a sauce and the chicken was mixed with the pasta. Not everybody liked this. Fair do,s to the chef he did some plain chicken for us,then we were offered a free drink of our choice. Would I stay here again well I would. Your staff are a credit to you

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your 3 star review and for your kind comments regarding how pleasant my staff are; I agree the staff are a credit to the hotel!
I do apologise regarding the warmth of the water. Sadly the hotel experienced some plant equipment faults during your stay. Engineers have attended site and new parts have been ordered; a repair is now scheduled for tomorrow morning.
I am also sorry the buffet was not to your liking but pleased the staff prepared you an alternative meal.
Despite the above I am glad to hear you would stay here again and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

On first arriving at hotel ok looking Long corridors plenty of doors to get throough to get to your room.
corridor carpets coming up in places.
security very poor emergency exits constantly left open by hotel staff with very easy access to rooms.
Breakfast £10.00 a head- poorly run- managers (appear to be a male and female)in different to the fact that items were constantly running out staff having a chat between themselves and there superiors.
Other items at breakfast No servietes-run out,chipped mugs mismatched cutlery soup spoon for breakfast!.
secound morning didnt bother..
Mc donalds over the road in the galleria plus other restaurants doing breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your 3 star review; I was pleased to see scores of 4 for value & location.
Thank you for your feedback regarding your breakfast experience, we can use it to improve this area. Only today my Food & Beverage Manager placed an order for dessert spoons so he obviously noticed and actioned this point.
The two emergency exits you refer to are used by guests to exit the building. I have got signs on these doors requesting they are not used to exit the building but sadly these are ignored. I will ask my Duty Managers to conduct more property walks to ensure these doors are kept closed.
The hotel owners do read Trip Advisor and will note your feedback regarding the corridor carpets. In the meantime I will ensure that any areas that may present a trip hazard are taped down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
487 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
4.0 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hatfield

Property: Ramada Hatfield
Address: St. Albans Road West, Hatfield AL10 9RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Hatfield 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hatfield is a great location for both business and leisure guests. Situated within easy reach of the A1M, M25, London and only 14 miles from London Luton airport. It is within a short drive of attractions including Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Warner Brothers The Making of Harry Potter Studio Tour and the Roman town of St Albans, it is also ideally located opposite the Galleria outlet shopping centre. The hotel offers a contemporary bar/restaurant as well as flexible meeting and event facilities. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Free car parking is available on site for all guests and residents can enjoy complimentary use of the gym & swimming pool at Hertfordshire Sports Village, just a few moments walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ramada Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hatfield Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing