We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room appalling” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Hatfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Hatfield
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“room appalling”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

was not entirely happy with my stay.this was a family room with what looked like being for disabled which was not an issue ,the cleanliness was appalling , especially in the bathroom.
The whole shower screen had water marks from the previous guest , the seal was filthy,the tiles need cleaning of body fat, i am sure the 2 jets on the walls need looking at as i am sure they should not be spouting water like a fountain at the top due to water rusting them,the door closer was hanging off the bathroom door and had come away from the wall,the door hinges filthy, i really dd not feel comfortable showering due to what i could see
a layer of dust on the shelf with hairdryer and behind the television.
waiting at the bar to be served and the lady just walked from behind the bar with no acknowledement whatsoever and dissapeared for a few minutes with not even a " hello i wont be a moment."
back to the cleanliness no matter what star hotel there is no excuse for dirt dust and being poorly kept
If i did not have to rush off to work then i would have asked to speak with the Duty Manager as there was no comments card in the room

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. I am sorry you were not entirely happy with your stay and apologise for the poor standards and service you describe. I have forwarded your comments onto my Management Team to review and take action.

The hotel does have adapted bedrooms for disabled guests however the bedroom style you describe with shower jets and bathroom door closers are not such bedrooms. The Japanese Shower Jets are a great addition to the shower experience in many of our bedrooms however I apologise that you were not able to take advantage of these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    281
    338
    136
    111
See reviews for
208
222
62
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good things - room size and layout excellent. Bed huge and comfy. Room warm enough and big windows. Lovely bathroom. Staff very helpful and professional (faulty hairdryer replaced in 5 minutes) despite hotel having two coach groups stay over one weekend. Food nice and a good selection. Decent sized bar.

Bad points - faulty hairdryer! On a main road. Our room looked out over a very depressing quadrangle in the middle of the hotel. Hard to find way round hotel - bit of a maze. Not enough room in restaurant due to number of guests (had to eat in the bar one evening). And unfortunately, although the bathroom was lovely, it did need a good deep clean - I did actually see a bit of mould in the shower and the sink overflow was dirty. However, everywhere else in the hotel seemed clean and tidy so maybe we were just unlucky and got the one "undercleaned" room.

Wouldn't stay again, mainly due to location, however the staff do what they can to make your stay comfortable and overall they are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WattsysGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your 3 star review. I am glad you found the hotel team helpful & professional and the size of our rooms & bar good; the hotel does have larger than average sized bedrooms. I agree that the outlook of some bedrooms could be improved and I have already tasked my gardener with creating some flower beds in the area you describe ready for the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is handy for those who don't want to stay in London itself or want to break their journey, It is clean, efficient and friendly - and comes at a good price.
Hatfield itself has many attractions - a shopping outlet, Galleria, is directly opposite while Hatfield House, St. Albans etc. are within very easy reach
We stayed with a Shearings party but could not fault it and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorksopTarbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am delighted you found the hotel clean, efficient & friendly. You are right the hotel is ideally located for guests to vist London; Hatfield train station goes direct into London Kings Cross. The hotel is also a good base for visiting Hertfordshire's best attractions like Hatfield House and Warner Brothers The Making of Harry Potter Studio Tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

stayed at the hotel for new year's party,great night, food excellent. room spacious and clean.breakfast was even better,staff where friendly and efficient,however the dining area from the night before where we had our breakfast had not been hoovered so the carpet and chairs where littered with the effects of the party.This was unfortunate as it spoiled an otherwise perfect stay. We will certainly consider returning next year, so more of the same please, plus the hoover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am delighted you had a great night on New Year's Eve, found the food excellent and staff friendly. We will be running the same event in 2013 so I hope to welcome you back.

Thanks for the feedback regarding the breakfast room; I was not aware of this but will now be able to ensure this is improved for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stay here quite a lot as the Ramada Rewards scheme is excellent. I must say the rooms are a great size and comfortable. What makes this hotel stand out is the staff and their friendly warm welcoming. Food is slightly over priced although no different to most other hotels. Breakfast is always good with plenty of choice and again very friendly staff. Use of University gym and pool across the road is a bonus. Overall would recommend above all other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EE-neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your second 5 star review. I am really proud of my team for continuing to deliver such a warm and friendly welcome. You are right the Wyndham Rewards Loyalty Scheme is an excellent scheme. As well as accumulating points for your stays every member gets a free bottle of mineral water and chocolate bar on arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Spent one night here recently. We were part of a Coach Party [Diamond Holidays} Prompt, welcoming check-in. Large, clean room. Comfy beds. Noise from road didn't bother me, even with the window open. Suppose it depends on how good a sleeper you are! The main thing that stood out in this hotel was the friendly, accomodating staff. Names I must mention are Mickey the Porter for his prompt friendly assistance and Zuzanna [sorry if the spelling is wrong] who greeted us in the dining room. What a lovely girl. She's a credit to the hotel. So helpful and keen to ensure we had everything we needed whilst dining. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 632Kathryn632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am glad you found your bedroom clean & large; most of our bedrooms are larger than average. It is great to hear how welcoming and friendly my team are. Mikey is actually our Maintenance Manager but is always willing to help our guests in whatever way he can. I agree Zuzanna is a great employee and I have awarded her Employee of the Year for 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had mixed feelings about this hotel. They had lost our reservation for 3 nights when we arrived, but that was quickly remedied. The room was great -- quiet, large, clean, warm. We especially appreciated the comfortable, large bed and the quiet location of our room at the very end of a hallway. For some reason, the cleaning staff forgot to give us replacements on coffee/tea/milk/sugar the second day. On the third day our room wasn't cleaned at all because someone had put a "do not disturb" sign on our door (not us). So we didn't have any tea supplies on that day either. Fortunately, one can get that stuff at the front desk but still.... The breakfast buffet was excellent though a little pricey for what we ate. We will continue to stay at Ramada/Jarvis hotels because they offer excellent value for money on their special 2 and 3 day packages. Plus their locations are wonderful. We were right across the street from the Galleria which had a fabulous selection of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1woodstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard D, General Manager at Ramada Hatfield, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am pleased you found your bedroom quiet, large, clean & warm; our bedrooms are larger than average. I am also pleased you found our breakfast buffet excellent but I take your point that it may be pricey if you do not eat a large breakfast. It is great to be so near to the Galleria Outlet Shopping Centre; as well as shops, cafes and eateries it has a Cinema!

I am sorry your bedroom was not serviced due to what would appear to be a prank by others but I am glad this has not stopped you using Ramada Hotels and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City H...
#2 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mercure London Watford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Hatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Hatfield

Property: Ramada Hatfield
Address: St. Albans Road West, Hatfield AL10 9RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hatfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Hatfield 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Hatfield is a great location for both business and leisure guests. Situated within easy reach of the A1M, M25, London and only 14 miles from London Luton airport. It is within a short drive of attractions including Knebworth House, Hatfield House, Warner Brothers The Making of Harry Potter Studio Tour and the Roman town of St Albans, it is also ideally located opposite the Galleria outlet shopping centre. The hotel offers a contemporary bar/restaurant as well as flexible meeting and event facilities. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Free car parking is available on site for all guests and residents can enjoy complimentary use of the gym & swimming pool at Hertfordshire Sports Village, just a few moments walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ramada Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hatfield Hotel Hatfield
Hatfield Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing