We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eve & Michael” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Cottage

Wyndham Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hatfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wyndham Cottage
Ranked #2 of 2 Hatfield B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eve & Michael”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a delightful place to stay. Wyndham Cottage in the grounds of Camfield Place, once home of the late Barbara Cartland, and more importantly the grandfather of Beatrix Potter, this B & B captures old world charm and comfort. Hosts, Maureen and John were most welcoming and attentive. A recommended place to relax or sightsee its beautiful and restful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was down doing a ceramic restoration course nearby & stayed at this lovely house for two weeks .
Maureen & John went out of their way to look after me but gave me plenty of privacy - perfect hosts!
The price was incredibly reasonable with an option of paying more for a for a large locally sourced cooked breakfast ( the best sausages I have ever tasted ) but as the normal breakfast was so extensive with home-made jams, muffins ,toast ,choice of cereals etc. I seldom felt greedy enough to go the whole hog!
Would definately stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherriconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have just spent 3 days at Wyndham Cottage. I was on my own as I was visiting friends nearby who did not have room to accomodate me. I had a delightfil 3 days - Maureen an John were fantastic hosts and when I left I felt I had made 2 new friends. The setting and accommodatio was superb - The breakfast excellent with home made preserves, fresh fruit and home made cake , also unlimited fresh coffee. The conservatory where it was served looked out onto beautiful wooded grounds and you could watch the numerous unusual birds pecking the seeds. I recommend this place 100% and look forward to a return visit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The couple who run this b and b cannot do enough for you. Lovely setting spotless, large guest lounge and conservatory.
The bread, eggs,jams etc are home made and delicious.

They even have cutlery and plates if you want to bring a take away back to eat and a fridge downstairs to store stuff for lunch.

There is free wifi but mostly it is a lovely place in a lovely setting run by a lovely couple. Very highly recommended and I hope they never change.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calabango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay for one night as I was attending a seminar the following day. The location of Wyndham Cottage was great as it was close enough to Hatfield for a quick 10 minute drive in the morning and far enough away to feel like I was out in the countryside and away from any noise as I wanted a good night's sleep. It is so quiet here at night that it was all but silent. You could have heard a pin drop. The bed was very comfortable and the room had all the usual facilities like a kettle with tea and coffee and fresh milk rather than that horrible UHT stuff. I had a lovely warm welcome and I was upgraded to a better room as it was available at no extra cost. The bathroom had a big walk in shower, rather than a bath with a shower over it, and was very modern and clean.

The room had a small flat screen TV which was adequate and free WIFI which was very welcome.

The breakfast menu was, in their own words, "extensive". Rather then giving you the option of cereal and/or a full English there was a menu for you to choose from. All the jams and marmalades were home made and the eggs they use are freshly laid, I think from their won chickens.

If you are a bird watcher or just like wildlife, while I was having breakfast in the conservatory I saw just about every type of garden bird including woodpeckers. Apparently they also get regular kites and herons too. I also saw deer in the garden and they get foxes and badgers too.

All in all an very pleasant stay and I will be going back next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADEnV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Interesting setting on Barbara Cartland estate with Beatrix Potter connections. Off road parking. Lots of walking locally. Lovely hosts, John and Maureen, who ensured we had a good time on the night we stayed. Excellent breakfast looking out over the fields and woods. Given our own key so could come and go at will. Free Wi-fi.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippyfromrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We looked for a B and B with en suite facilities and a good location and found Wyndham Cottage
The place was charming, the owners friendly and helpful, the bedroom and bathroom delightful and the breakfast amazing. Never ending views, homemade cake and jam and a full English. The even gave me a bag of apples to take away !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherubcambridge268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatfield
3.3 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
3.5 mi away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
Beales Hatfield Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hatfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hatfield
Ramada Hatfield
#5 of 6 in Hatfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hatfield Hotel
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
BEST WESTERN Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Cottage

Property: Wyndham Cottage
Address: Wyndham Cottage Camfield Place | Essendon, Hatfield AL9 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hatfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hatfield
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing