We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Very pleasant meal with extended family

This was with two very young grandchildren. Staff were friendly and helpful even though we turned... read more

Reviewed June 5, 2019
BruceMango
,
Watford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Wife’s took me for a birthday treat.

Decor really pleasant. Staff friendly and attentive . Ambiance relaxed.food we both had the fish... read more

Reviewed March 3, 2019
alan_brown0456
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
8
8
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
8
8
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews staff were friendly value for money decor chips food choice venue quality
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 27 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Yesterday evening myself and a friend had the huge gastronomic pleasure of dining at this pub/Bistro. We had three glorious courses, all of which were faultless, a decent bottle of red wine and the most scrumptious Mudslide cocktail to follow. From arrival through to departure the service was just perfect - no long waits, equally not rushed either, nothing was too much trouble and we had a nice chat too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and frankly can't wait to go back!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank lisaroe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2018

Staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful but always professional. Even managed to find a snug corner for my dog - perfect after a walk in the park opposite of for an evening with friends

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

Lovely little pub, good decor with excellent food menu. The fig and goats cheese tart was just yummy, clearly home made. Steak and chips also a winner within our group as was the chocolate dessert. Lovely cheese board and wine options. Thought through presentation. Good value for money and lovely friendly service. Def going back.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

We got in late Sunday walking from Wheathampstead with little dog. Two previous pub that were no good.
Great service the staff were brill and we didn't book (which I recommend you do anywhere now). We had been away for four months and got caught out. French menu as well.
Calamari and halloumi starters very nice and huge roast chicken, roast sirloin dinner could not fit in dessert!
Lovely place indoor and outside. Right next to cycle path so easy to walk to.

And the service charge from previous review, you don't have to pay it!!! But we did cause the service was worth it!!!!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank andrenam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

Well - my * rating would have been 4 until I got the bill. It’s a pub with a 12.5% service charge!!
The pub is really cute and has been done up really well.
Food was good but portions were small and a bit mean.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank AWilliams1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews