We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please serve us before one of us dies” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Harpenden

The White Horse Harpenden
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Horse Harpenden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 78 Restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St Albans
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Please serve us before one of us dies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Have been here before but the service was approaching comical. We went on a Saturday evening and although there were a few customers in it was not busy. We were welcomed and shown to our table, drinks ordered and were delivered in a few minutes. We were waiting for other guests to join us so not in a hurry.

We saw our friends arrive and then be ushered round the corner, on following them through they were advised that we had not yet arrived and to sit in the bar and wait. Good thing we saw them.

We then waited for an age to order a round of drinks and even longer to get served. We waited an age to order & again to be served. You get the drift .......

Food was good if not a little over priced so all in all fairly average. Shame.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    101
    83
    53
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Redbourn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“And the winner is........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

The fashion for TV shows to prolong announcement of winners (or losers) by prolonged silences with drum rolls was entertaining for about two seconds but prolonged waits can be infuriating. This is the failing of the White Horse which we visited on 22nd August. I note that previous reviewers have criticised the food but the food was good and was not an issue (certainly with what we chose). It was the waiting that spoiled the experience. Initially we were greeted by a very friendly waitress who was very helpful with menu's etc. However once our order had been placed then things slowed up. Getting slower between each course. Finally what seemed like an eternity waiting for coffee, we had to cancel coffee and leave. The duty manager was very apologetic but the fundamental failing here appears to be a lack of staff. The restaurant was by no means full and they were struggling with so few staff. It was a shame as the service we had was friendly and the food was good. I hope that this improves as it is a lovely setting and has some good positives about the place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonJSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointing for an anniversary dinner.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have been to this restaurant twice. The first time was a busy Saturday evening and the atmosphere was pleasant though the food was unremarkable. The second time was a Sunday evening for an anniversary dinner. It was quiet and the interior felt quite dull and unremarkable without customers to cheer it up. The service was distinctly shoddy. We stood at the entrance for several minutes, while several members of staff walked past us and were finally seated when we approached someone. The food was really mediocre for the prices. Some nice wine on the wine list was the only redeeming feature. Won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with great restaurant and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Always great service even when busy. Well run and managed by the lovely Kate and team. Always busy restaurant though I avoid Sunday lunchtime till 4pm as its jammed full.... Toilets always clean - really important indicator in my book

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThisisGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Great Little Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I went to the White Horse in Harpenden a couple of days ago. I hadn't been for a while and had heard some great reviews. I can't believe how wonderful it is now, a proper little pub with great decent pub/restaurant food. You get a friendly welcome when you enter and there isn't anything that is to much trouble and the staff look like they enjoy their jobs, which is quite hard to come about these days. I went with my husband and his parents that were staying over with us, they only want to eat there from now on (and they are incredibly picky!). I can't recommend highly enough that you visit, I'm gutted that I have taken so long to venture back in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Harpenden also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing