We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good pub grub”

The White Horse Harpenden
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Horse Harpenden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 78 Restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really good pub grub”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Been twice now and both times the food has been top notch.
The service wasn't as great this time but it's not terrible by any means and it was a very busy Sunday lunch service and they were helpful in accommodating my sister's 8month old baby.

Roast beef was really good.

Beautiful setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richardsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    105
    83
    53
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barnet
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice setting, but fairly average”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Went there for Sunday lunch a couple of weeks ago. Booked a table a week or so ahead and went in on the fri to book a table by the doors. Got there on the Sunday and was put in the middle of the restaurant as tables by the doors had been filled. Food was ok. I had garlic mushrooms to start which were excellent and the rump steak for main which was ok but quite small at the high price and only tasted average. Sea bass got a better response for taste, but was again small. Service was also very slow, particularly getting drinks. The place was very busy because of the warm weather, and I heard some of the staff talking about being understaffed, so they were aware of the issue. Meal was only ok, but nice setting and some nice live music after lunch too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike4991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Visited the White Horse again at lunchtime today and this time didn't find our meal value for money my daughter is a vegetarian and there is just not much to offer on the menu, she chose two duck eggs with brocalli and cost eleven pounds which i thought was expensive.
I enjoyed my posh burger and my husbands chicken was fine but i'm sure the potions are getting smaller.
Lovely setting and the staff are very nice but they will have to be careful because we all like value for money,it's too hard to earn.
The loo's need a deep clean now it's all got a bit tired.
Still like the pub and will go back but will leave it awhile.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Just average for the price”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Having recently been to the White Horse for both breakfast and dinner, I can say that there isn't anything too special about the food, and when considering the above-average prices, the whole value of the place comes out to very average indeed. The best thing going for the place is its facilities, very nice chabby chic decor on the inside and plenty of space on the outside to spread out on a nice day.

Breakfast has a limited menu, the American pancakes were just OK, the bacon (as reviewed earlier) was almost raw, and the hash (roasted potatoes and sliced sausage, so not my idea of a real hash) was very small and seriously over-salted. It seemed to me that the best thing about the White Horse for mornings is if you are a young or older couple with no kids and wanted to go and enjoy some coffee and the free self-service toast over a newspaper in the nice bar area.

Dinner was much better than breakfast, but again, the portions were all very small for the price. However, eveything from the starter to the dessert tasted good and the service was adequate.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravellerfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Have been here a few times and recieved a reassuringly expensive meal with friendly. Our last visit saw sulky red eyed staff actually screaming verbal abuse out of the door after us after they were reluctant to return a guarantee credit card AFTER we had settled the bill! Hopefully a place with these prices will resort to trained professionals not backpackers in future!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Harpenden also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing