We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful country house in Hertfordshire”

The Grove Harpenden
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpenden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grove Harpenden
Ranked #2 of 3 Harpenden B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Beautiful setting up a private drive. Claire and Gary made us very welcome and gave us a choice of rooms taking into account that I am of above average height. We settled on the Blue Room as planned which was lovely. Tea and coffee were offered with home-made cupcakes which we enjoyed in the garden. Local knowledge was sought for the best way to walk into Harpenden and was forthcoming with a local map. The suggestion to stop for a pint at the Carpenters Arms was followed up. When we returned, we enjoyed a blissful night's sleep in the wonderful bedlinen. Breakfast followed with plenty of chat and discussion of Gary's exploits on the cricket pitch the previous evening. We left with suggestions and directions to our next destination and a discussion of their beautiful garden.
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TunaTownFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon. Kind regards, Claire and Gary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

Clare and Gary welcomed us to their beautiful home and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, even when we managed to wake them up at 2.45 in the morning when our key got stuck in the door (mortifingly embarrasing for us!). They put us in their beautiful self contained apartment, which I have to say was as plush as any 5 star hotel. It was quiet, so well appointed and just a lovely place to stay. We are looking for an excuse to go back. If only every 'B&B' was as nice..!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
2  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Dear Rachel

It was lovely to have you to stay with us. I m so glad you had a great time, and were able to relax and enjoy yourselves. Gary and I look forward to welcoming you both back soon :) Kind regards, Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I had a fantastic stay at this wonderful country house in Hertfordshire. It's tucked away with wonderful views but easily assessable and close to the town. Having stayed in many B&B's I have never experienced one as luxurious as this and within my budget. Lovely large comfortable bed, fluffy towels (not cardboard like one often experiences!) quiet surroundings, fridge in room with milk, stylish decor, large bathroom and so much more.....oh and delicious breakfast to keep me going all day! I'll be back with my partner next time!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you for your Review. I m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you ll be back to see us again soon. Kind regards, Claire and Gary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

A truly beautiful place to stay with wonderful views and a luxurious feel. I stayed in The Green Room and had the best nights sleep thanks to crisp white cotton sheets and great pillows. Claire and Gary have created a fabulous place to stay and the attention to detail is second to none - the bathrobes behind the door, the fresh milk in the fridge, the fresh flowers in the room just some of the little extras that make such a difference when you stay away from home. The breakfast was superb and all locally sourced - I even witnessed my egg being collected from the chicken run! I will definately stay here again and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jokerow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Grove Harpenden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Claire and Gary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Clare and Gary have just started on the journey that is running your own Bed and Breakfast but this somewhat is an inapropriate name for the beautiful Country House outside the charming town of Harpenden. The Grove is a lovely early eighteenth century country house with great period features panelled dining room and a great entrance hall sitting room with tastefully decorated bedrooms and fantastic contemporary bathrooms: which even have mirror TV's and luxurious big baths and lots of lovely extras. Breakfast is all free range! Clare has her own chickens and the wonderful bacon and sausages to die for are sourced from the local farms. There are freshly baked croissant, a bowl of fruit, fresh juice basically anything you could possibly want served in a beautiful panelled room!

So what's the damage? £85 I can't wait to go back!
http://www.thegroveharpenden.co.uk/home

Room Tip: They are all good but the attic is the largest with a siting room area and access to a separate kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis_Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Dear Francis,

So pleased to hear you and your colleague had an enjoyable stay with us at The Grove in Harpenden. We really look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Best Regards

Claire and Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank miemewatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B, Owner at The Grove Harpenden, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpenden
3.4 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#8 of 10 in St. Albans
561 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,887 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Old Cock Inn
The Old Cock Inn
#3 of 3 in Harpenden
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Harpenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Harpenden

Address: The Grove | Pipers Lane, Harpenden AL5 5AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Harpenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Harpenden
Price Range: $119 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grove Harpenden 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing