We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite Italian coffee bar”
Review of Caffe Gusto

Caffe Gusto
Ranked #60 of 78 Restaurants in Harpenden
Cuisines: Cafe, Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“My favourite Italian coffee bar”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really good coffee and service. Pasta dishes are very good at lunchtime.
This coffee bar sometimes gets a little too crowded!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miriam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    3
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Update: Still great!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It has been a couple of years since my first review of Caffe Gusto, so I thought I would add another just to confirm the conistency of this hidden gem just off the high street.

I have been back at least a dozen times since the first review, mainly for coffee, and occassionally for breakfast. Nothing has changed. The coffee is first rate, the best in Harpenden. The breakfasts are fresh, hot and consistently good. The pastry and cake selection is wide and always delicious. The Italian-inspired lunch menu is a welcome departure from the average cafe sandwiches. The service is always quick and friendly, a true family-run and independent business. The only negative is that the garden seating area across the street is now gone, but with the never-ending cold and rain, I guess it doesn't really matter.

If you are tired of the characterless, pre-packaged chains on the high street, it's time to give Caffe Gusto a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravellerfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One Of Harpenden's Better Cafes”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Café Gusto is one of the better cafes in Harpenden. They do the usual range of lunchtime snacks – paninis, pizza, pasta. I really enjoy a dish of their pasta with a glass of the house wine (inexpensive but of decent quality). The coffee and cakes are also better than the chains towards the southern end of the High Street.

Recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenB209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Prawn Baguette”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We share a prawn baguette for lunch here. Great, with small leaves of . The decaf coffee is nice and bitter, very good. They are on a mission of constant improvement, very admirable in a family business. Freindly too, they remember what we want and how we like it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LanceTrendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Buzzy, bustling local café - THE place to go”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Always plenty of atmosphere at this buzzy little Harpenden meeting place. Bigger chains like Costa and Nero hold no attractions for locals in the know.

Full-flavoured coffee made exactly how you like it and an impressive range of cakes, biscuits and yummy, authentic Italian eats. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BestWordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Gusto also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Caffe Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing