We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and lovely meals!”
Review of Strada

Strada
Ranked #41 of 78 Restaurants in Harpenden
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We're delighted to bring our blend of regional Italian cooking, warm service and stylish interiors to the picturesque and lively town of Harpenden. Serving a delicious menu of regional Italian dishes including pizzas, pasta, risottos and some fantastic meat and fish secondi, Strada Harpenden is the perfect spot for a mid-shopping lunch break or a relaxing leisurely dinner. Check out our Set Menu offering great value on fresh seasonal produce Monday to Friday
St Albans
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service and lovely meals!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We dined at Strada in Harpenden for the first time on Saturday evening and what a great experience. The service from the waiter was excellent and very attentive to our choice from the menu and the food was really tasty. Best dining experience for a long time and we'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    45
    44
    35
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for a Chain”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked for 7.30 on a Saturday evening and the place was heaving, the only downside to the experience was the number of "out of control" children present. As we had to dine early, we had expected a few children to be in the Restaurant, but I do wish the parents would apply a little parental control over their little darlings.
The service we received was first rate, despite the waiting staff having to run the gauntlet of the aforementioned children and one unfortunate waiter almost losing an eye to a child's flailing arms.
We tried out the tasting menu, which was extremely tasty. The highlight for me being the Strozzapreti Pugliese which was excellent.
All in all this was an enjoyable experience, but my recommendation would be to go a little later in the evening at the weekend, unless you enjoy witnessing the antics of other people's children.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rellock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good all-rounder”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The restaurant was busy and had a nice atmosphere. The food was very nice especially the
Tegamaccio - A classic seafood stew. The service was good and the waitress was very pleasant and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDA160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having totally messed up my husband's birthday restaurant booking at a far fancier place we ended up at Strada for convenience and I am so so glad we did, it blew the socks off our usual 'special' restaurant.

The service was friendly but not intrusive, the location is lovely, looking out on the green but it was the food that made this meal so special. The scallop risotto was incredible, each flavour was clear and delicious and the steak on rocket salad was tender, generous and clearly a fantastic cut of meat.

At these prices we could afford a bottle of champagne too and the whole meal came to under £100 which means we'll be celebrating far more often.

This restaurant should be no. 1 in Harpenden ... try it and see.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janek47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good addition to the Harpenden dining scene”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is a good example of the Strada chain. Although another Italian in Harpenden could be one too many, but this is working out OK. Our food was very good, fresh and well presented. Pleasant and efficient service too, so very positive really.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZukeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Strada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing