We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Okka Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Harpenden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An all day eatery with a Mediterranean influence serving breakfast, lunch and dinner (in that order).Because we are an all day eatery it means you can come with your kids (for bubble and squeak and a milkshake), you can come with your friends (for a carefully selected ‘Teapigs’ tea and slice of the drizzliest lemon drizzle cake ever), you can come with your other half (for our ‘21 day aged’ rib eye steaks and bottle of Rioja) or you can just come on your own, to enjoy a cup of our excellent coffee and linger over the papers. (Slippers not included).
Milton Keynes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stopped here for breakfast a few days ago. In fact I had an appointment to go to, so I had a coffee and toast, and then came back later for another coffee and a proper breakfast - mushrooms on ciabatta with egg and topped with crispy pancetta. It was all absolutely delicious, and attractively served. There is a brilliant choice of breakfast dishes. At 9:30 AM and again at 11 AM on a weekday Okka was just under half full, and service was pretty prompt. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.
In particular I was impressed with the decaf americano. It was the best I've had in ages - rich and fragrant, not bitter, and with a wonderful crema.
Yes, the menu card was slightly dog-eared, but I took this as a sign of a busy and much-loved homely place, rather than a lack of care.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrilliantCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    96
    20
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Used to be our favourite place. Now not so much!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Food was very disappointing. We haven't been in a while and every dish was sub standard. Service was slow slow slow. Menu's worn and tatty, tables not laid up properly and when we complained we became invisible. So sad to see what used to be a fab place for food and service go down hill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank londonflashpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant place to go in Harpended.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Amazing hospitality, great menu, great food. My business partner Billy Schwer and I regularly visit Okka. All the team who work here are really friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One happy customer”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've eaten in this restaurant for over a year now and have to say that the quality and consistency of the food is amazing. Great atmosphere and friendly Turkish hospitality, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darrendrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A great place to eat!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have been recommended by many people about okka and have been told how delicious there food was. When I went to eat at okka for the first time, I was very impressed with the food service. not only did they have good quality food but a very good atmosphere!
I have been coming to okka many times now and have recommended it to every one I know. When I booked a birthday party here at okka they have gave us the best service!
Thanks Duran for the complimentary! ;)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Secret123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okka Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Okka Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing