We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally random. Service can be great, often is dreadful.”

The Slug and Lettuce
Ranked #63 of 78 Restaurants in Harpenden
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herts, Uk
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Totally random. Service can be great, often is dreadful.”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Such a shame as this place could be so much better. We have regularly been there for breakfast - which is usually very good. However, it totally depends on who is working that day. I kid you not - I have watched on numerous occasions 1 member of staff actively working, and two more standing around.
It is one of the few places in Harpenden where you can go with a few of you with young children as there is the space for pushchairs. However, you sometimes have to grin and bear it, and take a valium.
If the management of this chain (not of this branch who appears to be part of the problem) wanted to up their takings they would get on top of the slack staff.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellyfish_Electric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    48
    37
    31
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“A Bit Drafty”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

From the outside looking in, you may believe it to be a fantastic place. However, my visit was less than that as I was waited on once in the 1.5 hrs that I was there. Thanks to the hot chocolate that I ordered-which was rather good, I stayed somewhat warm given the front door was not closing properly and allowing a cold draft to come in. Didn't order food. My company was a bit cold, so we closed our tab and left. This could be a great place, despite the broken front door, it's a very relaxing environment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCLani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My coffee will be here soon...or maybe not”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The service in this place is a running joke. Before there were alternatives, this was where we had to go for a coffee, and you would wait around 15 mins for it to arrive.

So thank goodness I haven't got to go there any more!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BestWordsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poorly run”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Visited in Feb this year. Waited a long time for food and drinks, staff didn't seemed to care.

Visited 2 weeks ago on a Sat, 1 waiter working a Saturday lunch time. Walked out after 5 mins as there was no hope of service.

Impression that this poorly run. Won't be returning in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nevans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Typical chain pub, why bother?”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Not the worst chain pub I have ever witnessed. Serves typical mass market beers and "from frozen" food, is usually packed on a weekend evening, good location on the high street of a very nice village, but why bother when there are much better non-chain pubs and restaurants throughout Harpenden.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravellerfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Slug and Lettuce also viewed

Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
Harpenden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Slug and Lettuce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing