We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost!”
Review of The Greenman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenman
Ranked #1 of 2 Fownhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hereford
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Almost!”
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Totally refurbished now and a welcome site. Good beer served with two local ales. We were welcomed on arrival and drinks carried by manager to our table. Now my gripe. Ordered Red Mullet with Rissoto. Three pieces of fish, 1 of which had lovely crispy skin and then two curled up pieces of inedible rubber! The rissoto was nice if a tad under-seasoned. Showed waitress my stretchy left-overs and she seemed suprised. I expected an apology of sorts but no such luck. If she had asked us if our meal was fine whilst eating I may have got another portion. This may not seem like a big deal but it's these things that stay in your mind, and we may not come back, which would be a shame as we are fairly local. Puddings good though but expensive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreedyGutsLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    57
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
52
104
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I am a little reluctant to write this review and was seriously considering not (wanted to keep this place too ourselves), however decided that it just would not be fair. Our family stayed here the 1st weekend in October. The Ryder Cup was on and we had found it was very difficult to find a place to stay. Well weren't we the lucky ones to find such a lovely Inn. The rooms and the general decor of this place are fabulous. A fantastic mix of contemporary and original features. In my view this place is as good any top hotel. We stayed in rooms 2 and 3 which were inter-connecting and as previously stated the rooms were beautiful furnished throughout including wonderful bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent and they well catered for our children. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvpso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The Green Man has very recently been refurbished to a high standard. The common areas and bedrooms are very attractive, as is the historic building.

The linen, towels and provided robes in the room were good quality , nice walk in shower and toiletries. Very comfortable bed.

The food was excellent, and the waiting staff very pleasant. The restaurant seems to be very popular so advance booking for evening meals is probably advisable, especially at the weekend.

All in all a lovely and attractively priced venue

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car0leanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

The hotel has recently been re-modelled and has bags old world charm. Lots of exposed beams and wood. The room was comfy and cosy and we slept very soundly. Fownhope is a very cute although quiet english village which aided our rest.

We arrived in the afternoon and were lucky enough to make it for a delicious sunday roast! The herefordshire beef was incredibly tasty, coupled with great veg and a perfect yorkshire pud. My gf had the goats cheese salad and the soup which were again superb. The lunch was so good in fact we had dinner there too. This was again very good. Ham hock and fois gras was yummy. This was followed by mouth watering meat and some great sounding specials. A really nice intimate restaurant with great acoustics so you felt you were alone although the restaurant was pretty busy. Food all came in good time and the service was again attentive and very pleasant.

I would highly recommend people ignore the older reviews of the hotel. This is a great spot and it has clearly undergone a recent transformation.

The Green Man Inn has great friendly staff, great food and is great value for money. The Sunday lunch alone was worth the drive from London!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hags036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fownhope
5.2 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
5.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
6.4 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
6.4 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenman

Property: The Greenman
Address: Main Road | Fownhope, Fownhope HR1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Fownhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fownhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Greenman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Man Hotel Fownhope
The Greenman Fownhope, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing