We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Greenman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenman
Ranked #1 of 2 Fownhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went for a meal with friends. Food very nicely presented and desserts are lovely but a bit pricey, they were rather busy, but that didn't matter. Never stayed overnight so unable to rate. Gardens are lovely, a big Bright light exiting from the car park is too strong needs to be angled away a little so it doesn't blind you.
Staff are very friendly and efficient. In a lovely area of Herefordshire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

.
Gone are the heavy velour curtains, tapestry cushions, hunting prints, horse brasses and simple wafts of Sunday roast and beer that I knew from my youth of thirty odd years ago. Back then, it was a trad' village cocoon: the log fire you didn’t want to leave, the soporific head-nodding conversations, the sense of tradition, locals propping up the bar and drinking beer from glasses with handles and moaning about the youth of today – us! So if you’re a tourist looking for that quaint charm of merrie olde England, be prepared for where we are at now. The wonderful wood panelling remains but there’s a certain designer greyness about the place, a sense of seriousness about the act of eating.
The effort is to be applauded though; it’s moving with the times and caters to the improvements in our palates as a nation with, paradoxically, offerings from a bygone era such as pigeon which currently shares the menu with exotics like lobster or seasonal grouse.
But it’s overpriced, that’s the bottom line. With mains around £22+, this is not cheap, not country pub grub; it’s designer food in a restaurant within a pub. It's an old argument that the price is meant to reflect quality ingredients, highly skilled cooking techniques and presentation over quantity, but really, you should have enough to eat, surely? A side order of mushroom sauce at £2.50 comes in a jug that belongs in a doll’s house, that's just stingy. There were inconsistencies too in the flavour of the game from one portion to another.
The fillet stake was served on a wooden chopping board with tiny tiny portions, ask for a plate!
On the plus side, serving dessert on a piece of slate worked much better and was a hit with many in our party. The service was excellent as was the welcome, and the bar staff were first rate. The wine list, pretty good. Toilets immaculate, big car park. Funky designer fascinators like antler chandeliers alleviate some of the blandness of the overspill dining room. Pre-dinner drinks on the lawn under the trees were a great summer memory. I have deep, deep affection for this pub and would still recommend it as one of the very best in the county and perfect for a special occasion. It’s still hugely popular and rightly so, I’m just never sure these days if such places can still really be called a pub.
Perhaps I’m just too grey!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank maddoghere4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked into the green man after reading reviews on trip adviser I went with my wife and three teenage children to begin with when entering the hotel the staff were very polite and friendly the rooms outstanding the three boys shared a room number 8 while we had the room next door number 9 which is great for smokers because there is a small outside balcony the rooms are very large and the bathrooms fantastic the beds very comfortable I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this one is hard to beat In fact I could not find a problem with it if I am around this area again it will be the first place I book

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andypea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room (10) was very large with two huge sofas and a small balcony to soak up the evening sun. The bed was a bit soft for my taste but that's probably just me. The bathroom was very large with a double sink and a huge and lovely walk in shower, although if you want a bath you will be disappointed! Fresh milk for the room was an added bonus:) The hotel itself is lovely with lots of exposed beams and a small but comfy lounge area. Breakfast was a real treat, freshly cooked to order. Not being a huge fan of the "full English" I really enjoyed the wild mushrooms on toast and the freshly made pancakes. The Green Man is in the village of Fownhope which has some lovely walks which you can take from the door of the pub, and then treat yourself to a Weston's cider back in the bar.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and enjoyed it although it was a little expensive. We also ate at the Royal Oak and at the Walwyn Arms in nearby Much Marcle which were both good and much more reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a balcony but bed is soft Room 9 has a firmer bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellisfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for a night in August. It is a lovely village and the Green Man is very good. Nice welcome. Good rooms. Great location, you can walk from the pub down to the river Wye which is very beautiful. There are very few seats in the bar area if you aren't eating. And we booked a table to eat in the evening. We were taken from the main bar area into a kind of ballroom which had no atmosphere and was basically an overspill room. I felt that we should have been made aware of this when we asked if they had any tables. When we sat down to eat we were told the restaurant was full but all tables were empty. So in essence the "good" tables were taken. The food was pretty good. Goats cheese starter was just a piece of uncooked cheese and the chips with the steak were soggy. The steak was great though. Throughout the stay the staff were very pleasant. We would definitely return, but make sure we booked a table to eat when we booked the room to ensure the main restaurant area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ameliarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

stayed for one night in june .we were checked in at the bar by friendly barman and shown to
our room which was nicely furnished if a little small great shower though.
went down stairs for a pre dinner drink only to find all the tables in the bar were set for meals
even though the bar was empty we either had to take our drinks out to the garden or to the
table in restaurant which we had booked so this place is more a resaurant with rooms rather
than a country inn the food at dinner was superb quality as was breakfast ,drinks a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Love Love Love this location. They go that little extra mile for guests and to make your stay just that little bit special. The Inn fitted us in with only a moment's notice and for dinner as well. With a lovely beer garden for drinks and a dinning room that personally had my style heart captured.
The rooms were big and lovely decorated with kitsch design features and items of furniture. Bathrooms are modern with a great shower. Overall the building was very well renovated.
As usual I took a peak at the conference room and I was overcome my personal lust for a dear antler chandelier was peaked as the room had two and original wood beams.
I couldn't impress more how great our stay was. If only visiting for dinner it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wedarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fownhope
5.2 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
474 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
809 reviews
5.4 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hereford
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
5.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#11 of 11 in Hereford
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bowens Bed and Breakfast
Bowens Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Fownhope
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenman

Address: Main Road | Fownhope, Fownhope HR1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Fownhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fownhope
Price Range: $90 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Greenman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Man Hotel Fownhope
The Greenman Fownhope, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing