We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”
Review of The Greenman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Greenman
Ranked #1 of 2 Fownhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my third visit (another fishing trip) to the Greenman and as usual we received a warm welcome from the attentive lovely staff. Everything was as previous visits, great room, great food, great beer, i really can't fault this lovely country hotel. I will be back again in September if not before!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
There are newer reviews for The Greenman
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 257 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Business trip but wanted somthing differant.Quirky old inn with lavish furnishing spotless and a suberb restreraunt
staff attitude and a credit to the hotel
The only negative is the kitchen fans vent over the garden --between noise and smells this was problem--yes is was a heatwave and they need kitchen venalation but this needs sorting
Would happily stay again and certainly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Went here whilst staying at one of the nearby villages. On arrival the restaurant was nicely presented, the service we received from the staff was excellent and the food tasted great. Well worth a visit :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank S34N_DUNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Green Man after my Son's wedding recently and were very impressed with the hotel. The decor is stunning, the staff extremely attentive, the breakfast was superb and it was all spotlessly clean. I couldn't fault the hotel in any way. Excellent value for a top class, individual hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend went for a meal on Friday evening. We walked in and were greeted straight away and shown to our table, we had a lovely table next to the window. The bar and restaurant are beautifully decorated with the same theme throughout, it is very traditional which fits perfectly. We ordered our drinks and they came quickly. The menu had a great choice of starters mains and desserts. First some lovely fresh bread was bought to our table and was replenished once it had all gone. We had prawn and watercress risotto and lamb kofta with cous cous and both starters were fantastic. Our main courses were rump of lamb with baby vegetables and sweet potato purée which was great, my partner had duck breast with truffled asparagus, potato Rosti and orange which was also brilliant. There were far too many desserts I wanted to try, I had chocolate brownie with smartie ice cream for desserts which was to die for. Followed by baileys hot chocolate yum yum. The cheese boards were great too. From start to finish everything was fantastic, not once did we feel rushed and there were nice gaps between each course. We popped in again for a drink last night and were instantly remembered. Can't wait for our next visit on Sunday for lunch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachmw-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Want to feel special? Want to be well looked after and well fed? Book a table at the Green Man! Very friendly staff, varied menu, presented by a very well versed chef. I can recommend the asparagus/poached egg starter and main course scallops, served on samphire with baby new potatoes. All cooked to perfection. Companions chose fish and chips, novel presentation - yes we loved the fish in the little wire frying basket and the cones of newspaper-wrapped chips! Between us we tried four different puddings which were all declared delicious. The whole experience was a delight, well done all at the Green Man, you haven't seen the last of us!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had the fish & chips which was nicely presented if you like your food served in different containers - I personally would have preferred it on a plate. However it tasted good and the service was friendly and attentive. Nice place for a special occasion but slightly expensive.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank cybertyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fownhope
5.3 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
820 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
458 reviews
5.7 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
580 reviews
5.4 mi away
Merton Hotel
Merton Hotel
#11 of 12 in Hereford
110 reviews
5.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenman

Address: Main Road | Fownhope, Fownhope HR1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Fownhope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fownhope
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Greenman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Man Hotel Fownhope
The Greenman Fownhope, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing