We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bowens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Fownhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed in a spacious and comfortable courtyard room with well equipped bathroom, all in quiet country setting. We were greeted with a warm welcome and enjoyed a very good breakfast ...everything we wanted from an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we're very glad you enjoyed your stay here: sorry that we didn't respond earlier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 95 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Bowens for one night on the 5th April with some friends, we had courtyard rooms which were lovely, everything we needed, very warm and the beds very comfortable. The main house is beautiful and the views from the breakfast room are very nice. The hosts were lovely and the breakfast was great. On the Saturday evening we ate at the Green Man which is just a five minute walk away, this too was lovely with great food, highly recommended. We would definately stay here again xx

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank maccer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Many thanks for your great review; we're glad you enjoyed your stay here and the local hospitality! Please come back and stay with us again when you are next in the area. Regards, Kevin and Claire Braybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

There are few words to describe the Bowens. We came for several days and stayed in the cottage. The Innkeepers Claire and Kevin are truly wonderful and kind. The food was delicious and the grounds were beautiful. We slept so well here! I would highly recommend The Bowens and plan to come back again. I won't stay anywhere else in Fownhope. I love this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

What a glowing review; thank you so much! You and your party were an absolute delight to have staying here and we really do hope you will stay with us again when you next visit England and Fownhope. Best regards, Claire & Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at The Bowens for 4 nights in March 2014. In fact we are still here! I can't say enough about the wonderful hospitality Clair and Kevin showed us. Very accomadating, the Inn itself is quite comfortable. Home away from home. I would highly recommend staying here. Oh and the sausage to die for!!

Chuck and Merle Levy

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Many thanks for your delightful review! Hosting you and your lovely family was a pleasure; we sincerely hope you will find a reason to return to Herefordshire and stay with us again in the future. Best regards, Kevin, Claire and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in February 2014, during a period of much flooding in this part of the UK. The B&B is situated in the well kept village of Fownhope, which has 2 pubs, a local store/post office and 'Wye Valley Leisure'.
We had one of the courtyard rooms, which was decorated to a high standard and kept very clean. Nice comfy bed, soft towels and plenty of tea, coffee, shampoo etc all provided. The room was chilly when we arrived, but a back up heater is provided to supplement the central heating and we soon warmed up.
Claire and Kevin were very welcoming and helped out with local advice. They also loan us a torch, as there are no streetlights in the village. We eat at the Green Man pub (excellent) which is less then a 5 minute walk.
Breakfast is served at a time to suit. It was plentiful and of good quality - particularly the locally sourced bacon and sausages.
This is a really lovely area (even in the rain!), but you do need your own transport if touring any distance. There is adequate off road parking at the Bowens. The only drawbacks - we could get no mobile phone signal anywhere in the village (thankfully there is free WiFi at the B&B) and although we appreciated the independence of a courtyard room, we did find that the construction meant poor sound insulation from your neighbours. Fortunately, we had quiet people next door.
Overall a very stay - we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for your very pleasant review; we apologise for the room being rather cold when you arrived. We usually turn the central heating on earlier when we know guests are checking in during the afternoon but had failed to do so on this occasion. Fownhope is due to get a mobile mast in the near future so we will finally get a decent mobile signal in the area!
Thanks again and we hope you will choose Bowens when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Lovely house in a lovely setting, great hosts who are genuinely keen to make one's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Fabulous breakfast and exceedingly comfortable room - ours had a lovely view of the garden and beyond. We enjoyed an excellent meal in The Green Man, a charming local pub recommended by Kevin.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room in the house which was lovely (I think it was Room 2).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobias123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Many thanks for your very positive review; we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and hope you'll stay with us again in the future. Regards, Claire & Kevin Braybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This B&B is in the most perfect location on the same road as the amazing spa, Wye Valley Leisure. After spending a long day at the spa we retreated to this cosy B&B and took a stroll to a local pub for some wonderful food. The local landscape was absolutely stunning, our room was cosy, well maintained and quiet. The owners were friendly and helpful and breakfast was outstanding...Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a twin or double. The Owners did try to contact us to clarify but we were unav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thanks for your great review, apologies for our late response. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here and the local amenities. We look forward to you staying with us again. Regards, Claire & Kevin Braybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bowens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowens Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bowens Farm | Fownhope, Fownhope HR1 4PS, England (Formerly The Bowens Country Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Fownhope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fownhope
Price Range: $78 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowens Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Farmhouse set in tranquil village 7 miles from Hereford. Rooms are located in independent courtyard buildings; breakfast is served in the dining room of the main house. The village of Fownhope has two pubs, a restaurant in the local leisure centre and a store, all within short walking distance. Many nearby local attractions, walks and great fishing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowens Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowens Bed And Breakfast Fownhope, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing