We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bowens Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Castle House(Hereford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pilgrim Hotel(Much Birch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Merton Hotel(Hereford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
82
17
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseb bone nightgreen manexcellent hostsexcellent breakfastfishing tripstayed here for two nightscomfortable accommodationenglish breakfastroom was spotlesswould stay againlocal producesurrounding countrysidethe riverwye valleya lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 101 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2014

There are few words to describe the Bowens. We came for several days and stayed in the cottage. The Innkeepers Claire and Kevin are truly wonderful and kind. The food was delicious and the grounds were beautiful. We slept so well here! I would highly recommend The Bowens and plan to come back again. I won't stay anywhere else in Fownhope. I love this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

What a glowing review; thank you so much! You and your party were an absolute delight to have staying here and we really do hope you will stay with us again when you next visit England and Fownhope. Best regards, Claire & Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at The Bowens for 4 nights in March 2014. In fact we are still here! I can't say enough about the wonderful hospitality Clair and Kevin showed us. Very accomadating, the Inn itself is quite comfortable. Home away from home. I would highly recommend staying here. Oh and the sausage to die for!!

Chuck and Merle Levy

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Many thanks for your delightful review! Hosting you and your lovely family was a pleasure; we sincerely hope you will find a reason to return to Herefordshire and stay with us again in the future. Best regards, Kevin, Claire and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in February 2014, during a period of much flooding in this part of the UK. The B&B is situated in the well kept village of Fownhope, which has 2 pubs, a local store/post office and 'Wye Valley Leisure'.
We had one of the courtyard rooms, which was decorated to a high standard and kept very clean. Nice comfy bed, soft towels and plenty of tea, coffee, shampoo etc all provided. The room was chilly when we arrived, but a back up heater is provided to supplement the central heating and we soon warmed up.
Claire and Kevin were very welcoming and helped out with local advice. They also loan us a torch, as there are no streetlights in the village. We eat at the Green Man pub (excellent) which is less then a 5 minute walk.
Breakfast is served at a time to suit. It was plentiful and of good quality - particularly the locally sourced bacon and sausages.
This is a really lovely area (even in the rain!), but you do need your own transport if touring any distance. There is adequate off road parking at the Bowens. The only drawbacks - we could get no mobile phone signal anywhere in the village (thankfully there is free WiFi at the B&B) and although we appreciated the independence of a courtyard room, we did find that the construction meant poor sound insulation from your neighbours. Fortunately, we had quiet people next door.
Overall a very stay - we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for your very pleasant review; we apologise for the room being rather cold when you arrived. We usually turn the central heating on earlier when we know guests are checking in during the afternoon but had failed to do so on this occasion. Fownhope is due to get a mobile mast in the near future so we will finally get a decent mobile signal in the area!
Thanks again and we hope you will choose Bowens when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Lovely house in a lovely setting, great hosts who are genuinely keen to make one's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Fabulous breakfast and exceedingly comfortable room - ours had a lovely view of the garden and beyond. We enjoyed an excellent meal in The Green Man, a charming local pub recommended by Kevin.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room in the house which was lovely (I think it was Room 2).
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobias123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Many thanks for your very positive review; we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and hope you'll stay with us again in the future. Regards, Claire & Kevin Braybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This B&B is in the most perfect location on the same road as the amazing spa, Wye Valley Leisure. After spending a long day at the spa we retreated to this cosy B&B and took a stroll to a local pub for some wonderful food. The local landscape was absolutely stunning, our room was cosy, well maintained and quiet. The owners were friendly and helpful and breakfast was outstanding...Will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a twin or double. The Owners did try to contact us to clarify but we were unavailable.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thanks for your great review, apologies for our late response. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here and the local amenities. We look forward to you staying with us again. Regards, Claire & Kevin Braybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews