We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bowens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Fownhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed at The Bowens. It's not a luxury resort but it is a warm and friendly family run b&b that provides for everything a good b&b should, including a very good fried breakfast. Would like a more powerful shower but it wont stop me booking again. Highly recommended

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Jock254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments; very glad to know that you enjoyed your second stay here and hope you'll be back soon! Best regards, Claire & Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Spent one night at bowens b&b. Room was spotless and contained everything we needed for one night. Mr and Mrs braybrook were so helpful and so friendly. My partner and I will definitely use it again. When we arrived mr braybrook offered to ring the local pub and book us a table if we had not eaten.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and hope you'll visit us again next time you are in the Hereford area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Must admit I am more of a Travelodge girl as a rule but decided to venture into B&B land for a change and I am so glad I chose Bowens! We were welcomed into a very homely environment where nothing was too much trouble - the cream with coffee at breakfast was much appreciated! The room was compact but very comfortably furnished and with a spacious bathroom - once the soundproofing is done it will be even better (we were offered a move to another room after the first night but it wasn't really that much of an issue for us). Having free wifi was good as the phone service in the area was a tad lacking (I could get a signal on the bank at the end of the garden - wonder if O2 read TA?). The garden was a joy and to look over the garden to the fields beyond was lovely.

Fownhope is a little gem of a village with some good walks in the area and a couple of very nice restaurants within walking distance.

Over all, it was a super weekend in a delightful place and I would be more than happy to return!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Backpackinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Many thanks for the lovely review; we really appreciate your comments. The soundproofing work is scheduled to start in late September so that will be a reason for you to come back and test it out next year! Regards, Kevin and Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

All round very good - and very good value for money.

Kevin and Clare are welcoming and chatty but not obtrusive and nothing extra we asked for was too much trouble for them. Excellent breakfasts - I asked for a combination not on the menu and they took it in their stride, charging no more than the menu item - which was smaller than my order AND producing an excellent breakfast meal - 10/10!

Our unit was just like a motel room (about Travelodge level), but with a much larger bathroom, yet without a desk and chair. Spotlessly clean and room serviced daily (like a Travelodge). Wi-Fi provided free.

Look over the hedge from the car park to admire the large, neat and productive vegetable garden. Also see the twisted spire of the village church across the road. Plenty of car parking. Spacious grounds meticulously maintained. Walk to The Green Man and the Leisure Centre to eat out.

Some people have criticised "The Bowens" for - in effect - not being more like a motel. This is a family B&B and so it's unfair to match it against a purpose built £million + hotel or motel. Small family businesses like this deserve and earn all the support we travellers can give them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your very positive comments and support; we appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope you will stay here again should your travels bring you to Fownhope in the future. Regards Claire & Kevin Braybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights in July 2013 while visiting friends in the neighbourhood and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kevin and Clare gave us a warm welcome and our room was comfortable and spotless. The Bowens is on a B road through Fownhope village, but is well set back from the road, and our bedroom at the back overlooking the garden was so quiet that we overslept till 8.45! Great breakfasts, especially the coarse-cut sausage and thickly sliced bacon. If we need a bed in Fownhope in the future, we'll be very happy to come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased to hear that your stay at Bowens B&B was enjoyable; please come again when you are next in the area. Regards, Claire & Kevin Braybrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband, ten-year-old son, and I stayed at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast in Fownhope, England on July 5th through July 8th 2013 and really loved it. Set in the peaceful English countryside, Fownhope is a really lovely, relaxing getaway, and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Room #5 was very large with lovely views, and we had the most comforatble night's sleep we have had in weeks.

The Bowens Bed and Breakfast is ideally situated across the street from a historic church and just a few minutes drive to a picturesque river perfect for canoeing and fishing. Our hosts, Kevin and Claire Braybrook, were really wonderful. They helped us book a canoeing trip, which our son Joshua absolutely loved. The river was so peaceful with hawks soaring overhead, minnows flitting about in the water, and peacock-colored dragon flies alighting on beautiful flowers in the river. We even stopped along the sandbank and enjoyed a delicious picnic. At the end of the canoing trip there is a pub perfect for enjoying drinks and chatting with locals.

Additionally, the traditional English breakfasts the Braybrooks prepare are definitely worth getting up for. The farm-fresh bacon is particularly good, and helped fortify us for our refreshing morning walks in the lovely English countryside. Without any reservations, we would highly recommend staying at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, and when we are in Fownhope again, we will definitely stay here.

The Bucky's
San Diego, California

Room Tip: I'm sure all of the rooms are lovely, but we especially enjoyed staying in room #5. Very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvelyn60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Hereford and England and especially your time here at the Bowens B&B. Best regards, The Braybrooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from our stay here and have got to say excellent for families. I have three children and the family room had plenty of space for the 5 of us. The hosts very friendly and helpful. Yes there was a workman but it didn't impact us in anyway, places need things doing all the time so when else can they work !!! Breakfast was lovely and area and setting beautiful. Park near by for children plenty open fields and beautiful walk by river. village lovely and had a lovely pub lunch down the road from b&b again very child friendly. the people in the billage very warm and friendly. Well worth the money for a lovely weekend break.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed the family room and your stay here. Thanks for the great review; come stay with us again if you're in the Hereford area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fownhope
5.5 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
826 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
970 reviews
5.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hereford
320 reviews
5.9 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
217 reviews
6.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowens Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bowens Farm | Fownhope, Fownhope HR1 4PS, England (Formerly The Bowens Country Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Fownhope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fownhope
Price Range: $83 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowens Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Farmhouse set in tranquil village 7 miles from Hereford. Rooms are located in independent courtyard buildings; breakfast is served in the dining room of the main house. The village of Fownhope has two pubs, a restaurant in the local leisure centre and a store, all within short walking distance. Many nearby local attractions, walks and great fishing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowens Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowens Bed And Breakfast Fownhope, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing