We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as it seemed...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bowens Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bowens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Fownhope B&B and Inns
Claremont, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as it seemed...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Although clean, well kept and a nice shower this B&B is not as it appears on the internet or its brochure. The house is beautiful, but we were taken to the back to a tiny, shed-like room as our B&B. It was so small that there was no room to move, store our suitcases or sit, except on the bed. The breakfast was inside the big home each morning. In addition to the extremely tiny room, construction was going on the entire time we were there. Each day, upon our return from a trip out I would have to go next door and ask if the gentleman could stop pounding on our wall. Everyone was quite accomodating, but HEY I paid alot of money to stay at this place and felt it was just not up to the quality I am use to.

I had hoped the owners would offer a refund due to the excessive noise, and the need for US to as for quiet, but that did not happen.

Room Tip: You might see if there are any rooms in the house, otherwise expect a tiny shed/cottage out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranapipens2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We were surprised and disappointed to read this review as we always endeavour to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible and encourage them to discuss any concerns during their stay. The standard courtyard room booked on line is illustrated on our website and is our most economic option. The brick built, single story courtyard room formed part of the original farm buildings and thus is not as large as might be found in many American hotels, however, does include a recess in which to hang clothes and space to store a suitcase. It is unfortunate that these concerns were not raised during your stay as alternative, larger rooms were available at the time of booking for an additional 5 pounds per night and we could have moved you to a larger room for the modest additional tariff. The construction in progress during your stay involved the installation of sound reducing insulation. Our builder only operates between the hours of 11.00am and 5.00pm in order to avoid disturbance to guests and is asked to monitor his activities in relation to the occupancy of adjacent rooms. We believed that he had switched to an alternative activity when you returned each day and apologise if that was not the case. We hope that your experience did not adversely impact your overall enjoyment of the Herefordshire countryside and that you will return to visit us here in the UK again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tonbridge
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent accommodation - clean, roomy and comfortable. Lovely hosts who were very helpful in recommending where we should eat, and left a note saying the roof was open on my car. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had the large twin, which overlooked the garden/fields. Would book this room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monica t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review; we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the moment I arrived the service was fantastic, and the family atmosphere makes this B&B all the more enjoyable. I was catered for thoroughly right down to personalised early morning breakfasts which was essential to my stay for the week. The rooms were immaculate and very much more than I required and this was topped off with the faultless internet access. As and when I find myself in the area again this will definitely be my B&B first choice.

Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssmith1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for your glowing review! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us; if we could rate our guests you'd get 5/5 as well. I'm glad everything was to your satisfaction and please do come and stay with us again if your in the Hereford area again. Best regards, Claire & Kevin Braybrook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night in preference to a Travelodge as we were travelling with our dog. The accommodation was generous, clean and welcoming but the highlight was definitely breakfast. Good quality produce and plenty of coffee ensured we were set for the day ahead. Also, our dog loved playing with Bella the Lab in the garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesrodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I'm sorry we never responded to your review of the Bowens B&B last year; many thanks and please think of us when you next need to stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szentendre, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Dog tired from travelling all day from Budapest Hungary, the signpost to Hereford told me I had only a few miles to go. Enough was enough. As their own accomodation was booked, the helpful Wye Valley Leisure Club receptionists made a call to Claire Braybrook at the Bowens. 2 mins later I met her and was given spotless warm room, internet and peace! Helpful to the last moment, she also provided me with emergency shaving kit found to be missing before the delicious breakfast the following morning. By 08.15 I was away again with vows to return. Great place, nice family and terribly helpful..... few like it! Well done. Jock MacKenzie

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockmack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I'm sorry we never responded to your review of the Bowens B&B last year; many thanks for your great comments and please think of us when you next need to stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very clean, tidy and comfortable Bed & Breakfast in a lovely village
we were only there for 2 nights but the family could not have been more
welcoming and we would like to praise the quality of the breakfast
which alone is worth the visit (even better than the Ritz, which we
experienced a short time ago)
We will definitely return when the occasion arises
D & P

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
I'm sorry we never responded to your review of the Bowens B&B last year; many thanks and please think of us when you next need to stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A delightful B&B: friendly welcome, comfortable rooms and wonderful home-cooked breakfasts.
My wife had to leave at 6am to collect our daughter and take her to a dressage competition, so Claire kindly laid up a breakfast tray the night before for her to eat in the bedroom. We stayed in one of the ensuite annexe rooms, which was ideal for a quiet departure without disturbing other guests. I was able to depart later and enjoy the delicious breakfast!
We ate out locally both evenings, and can recommend both the Green Man "gastro"-pub and the Wyeside Health Club restaurant - both within easy walking distance. The Wyeside is just beyond the pub and can be reached by walking through to the back of the pub car park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BowensBandB, Owner at The Bowens Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review; we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll come here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fownhope
0.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 13 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowens Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bowens Bed and Breakfast
Address: Fownhope HR1 4PS , England (Formerly The Bowens Country Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Fownhope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fownhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bowens Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Georgian Farmhouse set in tranquil village 7 miles from Hereford. Rooms are located in independent courtyard buildings; breakfast is served in the dining room of the main house. The village of Fownhope has two pubs, a restaurant in the local leisure centre and a store, all within short walking distance. Many nearby local attractions, walks and great fishing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Bowens Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowens Bed And Breakfast Fownhope, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing