We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cottage, fabulous location, fabulous...”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Cider House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
the llamas outside the Cider House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ewyas Harold, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pheasantp...
Alston, Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, fabulous location, fabulous hosts, fabulous llamas”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We're just back from a wonderful break in beautiful Herefordshire. The Cider House isn't just a delightful holiday cottage (loved the roll top bath and big bed) to use as a comfortable base for exploring this lovely area, Old King Street Farm is a great experience in itself – and the views of the surrounding countryside are second to none. Robert and Amanda really go out of their way to make you feel at home and ensure you have a lovely stay. They are only too happy to introduce you to their llamas and tell you all about them. You can even take them on a trek (the llamas that is...plus Robert). The village has good pubs and an excellent fish 'n chip shop. There are plenty of nice local walks and interesting towns and villages to visit. We especially liked browsing the book shops in Hay on Wye. We loved our stay and very much look forward to an early return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just the overall experience
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaL...
Washington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent well equipped cottage with lovely hosts.”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We just had a delightful 4 night stay at The Cider House cottage, the cottage was everything that we hoped for in wonderful, peaceful surroundings with fabulous views. Robert and Amanda were very attentive hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed the time spent with the Llamas.
The Llama Trek is a must for anyone booking a holiday, they really are the most endearing creatures. Would highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, views and Llamas
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire S
1 review
“Stunning surroundings and lovely llamas”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The whole stay exceeded expectations! The Cider House is beautiful, lovely and spacious but cosy. Very comfortable bed, stunning views, loveable llamas, welcoming hosts, only 5 min walk to village shop. Would love to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moira b
Smethwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding property, superbly furnished and very welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The kitchen was very well appointed with everything that you could possibly need/want. The property was generally well furnished. We were on a walking holiday and the location was very good for the Brecon Beacons etc. The hospitality of the hosts was very welcoming with unexpected treats!
Finally walking with llamas was the icing on the cake and not to be missed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't pick just one thing
Liked least: Everything was fine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtTheRace...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely barn & perfect break!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I've only just joined TripAdvisor but wanted to add a review for our stay at the Cider house last Easter. We stayed 5 nights for a long weekend over the Easter weekend, it was booked last minute but we had a perfect stay. The barn is lovely, very spacious, very clean, relaxing & a very comfy bed. The surrounding area was beautiful too. We liked the fact that we had the remote country feel but was about 10 minutes walk away from two good pubs, a convenience store, and a very good Fish & Chip shop. We enjoyed going for walks in the area & the locals were very friendly. But the best bit was the Llama trek, they are such chilled animals & not at all what we expected. The landlords Robert & Amanda were friendly & welcoming too. We very much enjoyed the cakes Amanda bought round one evening.Highly recommended & we'll definitely be going back! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A great stay - All good.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2013
It's very kind of you to take the trouble to review the Cider House and Llama Trekking. We really do enjoy meeting visitors to Herefordshire, and the llamas are delighted to escort new trekkers on a walk through the beautiful surrounding countryside. We hope to see you here again, best wishes Amanda and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan L
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful relaxing warm cottage”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had a great weekend in the Cider house. Amanda, Robert and the llamas were very welcoming. The house was a warm, clean and cosy. Very well equipped house. Great bath and bed. The cottage was at perfect location to explore by bike the beautiful Herefordshire country side.
Great fish and chips in the local village - nice pub too.
We would go back to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2013
That's very kind of you. Thank you for your generous comments. Later the same day as you left, our llama Marden gave birth to her first baby cria - Flowerdown - a lovely little girl and very charming. We hope to see you here again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing