We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory

The Old Rectory
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ewyas Harold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Ranked #2 of 3 Ewyas Harold B&B and Inns
Evesham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Marvellous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I can only endorse what others have said. If there is a top two or three B & Bs in the UK, this is amongst them. Jenny & Chrix are generous and warm hosts and go way beyond the basic minimum to make one welcome. The full "Old Rectory" experience....the wood burners going flat out to keep us cosy...the delicious cake after a days walking...the traditional decor with lots of fun sporting prints....and top quality bed linen and bath robes...and very comfy beds. And a declicious breakfast! One of our party asked for croissants...(a liittle un-English in that environment!) and they were on the table before she had blinked. And of course the area is packed with good eateries, which they will advise on.
We had the twin room, with separate bathroom and this was fine. We rather liked the modern bathroom, newly refurbished to a high specification.
I hope we can go again one day

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toastandmarmalade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Jenny was a superb host the house was lovely clean comfortable and full of interesting things. The grounds were lovely and had we had time would have loved to sit there. Breakfast was excellent and service speedy and very pleasant. Jenny's husband had been unwell but this did not stop her going above and beyond what we expected or paid for. Would love toh go back.

Room Tip: Only 3 all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped at The Old Rectory for one night in July it is lovely and peaceful place. On arriving we were greeted by Jenny who owned the house a very warm and nice lady we were shown to our room which was up a very grand staircase. The rooms was very clean and at night so peaceful all you could hear was the owls hooting. The breakfast was full English tea, coffee etc and nothing was a problem. If you are passing through this way I would recommend you to stop at this B+B

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire20Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here with a friend whilst on a walking trip covering part of Offa's Dyke. The Old Rectory is charming, full of character and kept in pristine condition by the owners Jenny and Chrix. We were greated by tea and cakes which was very welcome after a days walking. The bedrooms are spacious, furnished with antiques and very comfortable with crisp white bedlinen and fresh towels each day, the breakfasts delicious. The house is in a delightful countryside location, with lovely gardens which are free guests to enjoy. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Two rooms have en-suite, one has shower the other a bath, another double room has a separate but pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked into the Old Rectory on the advice of friends in the village of Ewyas Harold for our visit with them. It was so comfortable and quiet. The house had the character of an old country house with lots of antique furniture and beautiful decor. Comfy beds and large room with television, little sofa and tray of tea, coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was extremely good, choice of cooked and/or cereals, toast and lots of lovely preserves, some home made. The large table in the dining room made for good conversation in the mornings and the view was superb. We really enjoyed our stay and the Juckes made us very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
254 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

The Old Rectory offers bed and breakfast accommodation full of character, with rather grand rooms full of period furniture and collectables, including many hunting trophies!

We were made to feel very welcome and the Juckes were happy to help with suggestions for places to eat and a map and book of walks which was useful. Our twin room was very large and clean, with comfortable beds and we had a separate, modern (but slightly out of keeping?) bathroom for our sole use.

Breakfast is taken in the large dining room overlooking the gardens and offered good variety, including home made preserves and good coffee.

We would very much recommend this property and the Black Mountains (our first visit to them)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

We went to see our friends in the village and stayed overnight in this magnificient house.
We had a very warm welcome with a nice tee. From the first moment we really enjoyed the atmosphere of this beautifully furnished old rectory. The rooms were large and clean and the garden very beautiful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foodlover83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: Ewyas Harold HR2 0EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ewyas Harold
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ewyas Harold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Ewyas Harold, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing